Moser Named USBWA All-District VIII

March 6, 2012

LAS VEGAS ( - UNLV men's basketball sophomore forward Mike Moser has been named to the 2011-12 United States Basketball Writers Association's All-District VIII Team, as voted by the association's national membership and announced by the organization on Tuesday.

Moser, who on Monday was named to the Mountain West's first team, all-defensive team and selected as the league's Newcomer of the Year, leads the Runnin' Rebels in scoring with 14.0 points, rebounding with 10.7 and steals with 1.9 per game. He is one of only two MW players averaging a double-double and is eighth in the country in rebounding.

Moser has 14 double-doubles this season, which is second in the Mountain West and 20th in the country and is one of only two players in the nation with two 20-rebound games this season. Additionally, he is the only player in the MW in the top six in scoring, rebounding, field-goal percentage, steals and blocks. He has scored in double figures 22 times this season, including four games with 20-plus points. He also has reached double-figures in rebounds 20 times, and finished with at least seven rebounds in a game in 29 of his 32 games.

The other nine members of the All-District VIII squad are Montana's Will Cherry, Colorado State's Wes Eikmeier, New Mexico's Drew Gordon, BYU's Noah Hartsock, Weber State's Damian Lillard, Air Force's Michael Lyons, New Mexico State's Wendell McKines, Colorado's Andre Roberson and Nevada, Reno's Malik Story.

Lillard was named the District VIII Player of the Year, while Colorado State head coach Tim Miles won Coach of the Year honors.

District VIII includes the states of Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming. There are nine regions. The All-America team will be announced on March 12.

20th-ranked UNLV, which finished the regular season with a 25-7 overall record and a 9-5 mark in conference play, is the No. 3 seed for this week's MW Tournament at the Thomas & Mack Center. The Runnin' Rebels will face No. 6 seed Wyoming in a quarterfinal matchup on Thursday, March 8 at 8:30 p.m.