CSU backcourt mates garner NABC all-district nods

March 14, 2012

NABC Announcement

By Danny Mattie
Athletic Media Relations

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Colorado State’s junior backcourt mates Wes Eikmeier and Dorian Green were named Wednesday to the National Association of Basketball Coaches all-District 17 second team, adding to the list of postseason awards for the guards. 

Eikmeier and Green each grabbed all-Mountain West honors last week, as voted on by the league’s head coaches and media.  Eikmeier earned first-team all-MW accolades, while Green was a third-team selection.  Eikmeier also took home an all-district nod from the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. 

The duo ranks 1-2 on the team in scoring and helped lead the CSU men’s basketball team back to the NCAA tournament for the first time in nine years. 

The Rams, an 11 seed, play the first game of the Round of 64 against sixth-seeded Murray State (30-1), tipping off Thursday at 12:15 p.m. ET/10:15 a.m. MT from the KFC Yum! Center in Louisville, Ky. 

Eikmeier and Green were joined by MW foes Anthony Marshall (UNLV), Leonard Washington (Wyoming) and Hank Thorns (TCU) on the second team. 

Mike Moser (UNLV), Drew Gordon (New Mexico), Kendall Williams (New Mexico), Chase Tapley (San Diego State) and MW Player of the Year Jamaal Franklin (San Diego State) comprised the first team.