Moser And Anthony Earn NABC All-District 17 Honors

March 14, 2012

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. ( - UNLV men's basketball sophomore forward Mike Moser and junior guard Anthony Marshall have been named to the 2012 National Association of Basketball Coaches' All-District 17 Teams, the organization announced Wednesday.

Moser was selected to the first team, while Marshall is on the second team. San Diego State's Jamaal Franklin, New Mexico's Drew Gordon and Kendall Williams and San Diego State's Chase Tapley were the other first-team members, while Wyoming's Leonard Washington, TCU's Hank Thorns, and Colorado State's Wes Eikmeier and Dorian Green made up the rest of the second team.

Moser was earlier selected to the 10-member United States Basketball Writers Association's All-District VIII Team and was a first-team All-Mountain West honoree in addition to being the league's Newcomer of the Year and a member of the all-defensive squad. He was also named All-MW Tournament on Saturday.

Moser has led UNLV in rebounding 24 times this season and in 12 of those games he was UNLV's highest scorer. He ranks 10th in the nation in rebounding with 10.6 per game and also leads the team in scoring with 14.1 ppg and steals with 1.8 per contest. He is one of only two players in the nation to have more than one game with at least 20 rebounds this season and he is one of only two MW players to average a double-double this year.

Marshall is the only player ranked in the MW's top 10 in both rebounding and assists this season and is the lone player in the top 15 in scoring, top 10 in rebounding and top 10 in assists. He was named second team All-MW and was also voted as a member of the league's all-defensive team. He has averages of 12.1 points (third on the team), 5.1 rebounds (second on the team) and 4.6 assists per game (second on the team).

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, the 240 student-athletes from 24 districts are now eligible for the NABC's All-America teams, which will be announced Tuesday, March 20.

The Runnin' Rebels (26-8) are in their fifth NCAA Tournament in the past six years and are the No. 6 seed in the South Region. They will play 11th-seeded Colorado (23-11) in the second round on Thursday at approximately 6:57 p.m. PDT. The game will be televised on truTV.