Thorns Named to NABC All-District Team

March 15, 2012

FORT WORTH—TCU senior guard Hank Thorns is one of 10 players who have been named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District 17 Team.

A first-team All-Mountain West selection this season who also appeared on the watch list for the Bob Cosy Award presented to the nation’s top point guard, Thorns was named to the All-District 17 Second Team by the NABC. Thorns was joined on the list by Colorado State’s Wes Eikmeier and Dorian Green; UNLV’s Anthony Marshall; and Wyoming’s Leonard Washington. Comprising the first team were New Mexico’s Drew Gordon and Kendall Williams; San Diego State’s Jamaal Franklin and Chase Tapley; and UNLV’s Mike Moser.

Thorns leads TCU this season in scoring (13.5 ppg), assists (4.66 apg) and 3-pointers (72). He has started all 32 games for the Frogs and recently scored his 1,000th career point after reaching the 500-career-assist milestone earlier this season.

TCU continues its campaign in the 2012 College Basketball Invitational tournament Monday, when it travels to Corvallis, Ore., to face Oregon State in quarterfinal-round action at 9 p.m. CDT.

First Team                               
Drew Gordon, New Mexico
Kendall Williams, New Mexico
Jamaal Franklin, San Diego State
Chase Tapley, San Diego State
Mike Moser, UNLV

Second Team                           
Wes Eikmeier, Colorado State
Dorian Green, Colorado State
Hank Thorns, TCU
Anthony Marshall, UNLV
Leonard Washington, Wyoming