Williams, Snell Honored by College Sports Madness

Oct. 19, 2012

Albuquerque, N.M. --- With the official Mountain West Preseason All-Conference Teams getting ready to be announced on Monday, October 22, Kendall Williams and Tony Snell got an early honor as College Sports Madness named both the CSM Preseason All-Mountain West First Team. The Lobos were the only team to have two players on the first team.

Dave Rice of UNLV was named Coach of the Year, Anthony Bennett of UNLV was named Freshman of the Year, and Jamaal Franklin of San Diego State was the preseason Player of the Year.

Williams and Snell were joined on the first team by Franklin, UNLV's Mike Moser, Deonte Burton of Nevada. In all, CSM announced four preseason teams.

Williams is UNM's leading returning scorer after breaking the 400-point barrier for the second consecutive season. Williams has a chance to become only the second Lobo besides Kenny Thomas to score at least 400 points in all four seasons. He averaged 12.1 points per game last season along with recording a team-best 142 assists and 46 steals. Snell led UNM with 72 three-pointers last year and was named to the All-MW Tournament team as UNM won the conference tournament title in Las Vegas last year.

The Lobos will tip-off the season on October 31 at 7 p.m. against Victory University in an exhibition game. UNM's regular season will open at 11:59 p.m. against Davidson on Monday, November 12 as a part of ESPN's 24 Hours of Basketball Tip-Off Marathon.