SDSU's Franklin, UNLV's Moser Named to Wooden Award Preseason List

Nov. 8, 2012

Related Links

LOS ANGELES - San Diego State junior guard Jamaal Franklin and UNLV junior forward Mike Moser continue to add to their list of preseason accolades with today's inclusion on the John R. Wooden Award preseason top 50 list, announced by the Los Angeles Athletic Club on Chosen by a preseason poll of national college basketball media members, the list is comprised of 50 student-athletes who, based on last year's individual performance and team records, are the early front-runners for college basketball's most prestigious honor.

The Mountain West is one of eight conferences (ACC, Big 12, Big East, Big Ten, Pac-12, SEC and WCC) with multiple individuals on the preseason list.

Franklin has also garnered preseason All-American accolades from Sporting News, Sports Illustrated, and, with Moser joining him on the latter three lists.

Hailing from Hawthorne, Calif., Franklin enters 2012-13 as the preseason Mountain West Player of the Year, a season after earning the postseason version of the award. Franklin, a 2011-12 Associated Press All-American honorable mention, averaged a team- and MW-best 17.4 points and an Aztec-high 7.9 rebounds in 2011-12.

Moser, a product of Portland, Ore., also earned AP All-American honorable mention accolades in 2011-12. Last season's MW Newcomer of the Year, Moser led the Runnin' Rebels in both scoring (14.0 ppg) and rebounding (10.5 rpg) while grabbing a Conference-best 68 steals.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), Kevin Durant ('09) and former Mountain West players Andrew Bogut ('05) and Jimmer Fredette ('11). Kentucky freshman Anthony Davis won the men's award in 2012.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the All-American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award's name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All-Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club the weekend of the John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.

Follow the candidates and get the latest news throughout the season by logging on to or going to the Wooden Award Facebook page at