TCU Football Announces 2011 Team Award Winners

March 31, 2012

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The TCU football program honored its 2011 senior class at Saturday night's team banquet in the Daniel-Meyer Coliseum.

Before nearly 1,000 people in attendance, the seniors were recognized for TCU winning three straight conference championships for the first time in program history. The 2011 class saw the Horned Frogs reach a pair of BCS games, including a 2011 Rose Bowl championship. The seniors won three consecutive games against top-five ranked teams, were 3-1 in bowl games, 6-2 against teams from BCS-automatic qualifying conferences, 23-1 at Amon G. Carter Stadium, 30-1 in Mountain West games and 47-5 overall.

All 19 seniors have either graduated or are on track to earn their degree by this fall. The seniors totaled 238 career starts.

In voting by his teammates, quarterback Casey Pachall was selected as TCU's Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player. It's the second straight year a quarterback received the award. In 2010, Andy Dalton became the first Horned Frog signal caller since Jeff Ballard in 2006 to be tabbed for the honor.

Pachall set TCU single-season records for completions (228), completion percentage (66.5) and passing yards (2,921), while his 25 touchdown passes placed second behind only Dalton (27, 2010). Pachall ranked 12th nationally, and third among non-juniors and seniors, in passing efficiency with a 157.98 rating. He was the Walter Camp National Player of the Week after career-high totals of 473 yards passing (24-of-37) and five touchdowns in a 36-35 win at No. 5 Boise State. The 473 yards passing were the most by a TCU quarterback in the 11-season tenure of head coach Gary Patterson and the second-best total in school history. The five touchdown passes tied a TCU single-game record shared by three others.

Linebacker Tank Carder received the Horned Frogs' Defensive Most Valuable Player award. Carder shared the honor with All-America safety Tejay Johnson last season. Carder totaled 70 tackles, including 4 1/2 for loss, in 2011. The 70 stops were just two behind Kenny Cain for the team lead and gave him 228 career tackles, the most by a Horned Frog since former linebackers Jason Phillips (315, 2005-08) and Robert Henson (272, 2005-08). Both of Carder's picks in 2011 were returned for touchdowns as he became TCU's career leader with three interception returns for scores.

Carder was named to multiple All-America teams and was the Mountain West Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season.

Antonio Graves and Greg McCoy tied for the Special Teams Most Valuable Player award. Graves led TCU with 14 special teams tackles while forcing two fumbles. He also recovered a blocked punt in the end zone for a touchdown against UNLV. McCoy was the Mountain West Special Teams Player of the Year as he ranked sixth nationally in kickoff return average at 30.6 yards. He became the first Horned Frog since Cory Rodgers in 2005 to return two kickoffs for touchdowns in the same season. Fullback Luke Shivers, who played the 2011 campaign as a graduate student, received the G. Malcolm Louden Academic Achievement Award. Shivers scored 13 career touchdowns on just 34 touches.

2011 TCU Football Team Award Winners
Most Valuable Player Defensive Scout Team - Chris Cisi (Thousand Oaks, Calif.)
Most Valuable Player Offensive Scout Team - Chris Hackett (Tyler, Texas)
Davey O'Brien Fightin'est Frog Award - Waymon James (Sherman, Texas)
Grassy Hinton Most Conscientious Award - Spencer Thompson (Plainview, Texas)
Y.Q. McCammon Outstanding Squadman - Chris Cisi (Thousand Oaks, Calif.)
Abe Martin Leadership Award - Spencer Thompson (Plainview, Texas)
Ralph Lowe Sportsmanship Award - Jeff Olson (McKinney, Texas)
G. Malcolm Louden Academic Achievement Award - Luke Shivers (Whitehouse, Texas)
Most Valuable Player Special Teams (Tie) - Antonio Graves (Texarkana, Texas) and Greg McCoy (Dallas, Texas)
Special Teams Points Leader - Deryck Gildon (Arlington, Texas)
Most Valuable Player Defense - Tank Carder (Sweeny, Texas)
Most Valuable Player Offense - Casey Pachall (Brownwood, Texas)
Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player - Casey Pachall (Brownwood, Texas)