Five MW Football Players Represented on 2012 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List

May 24, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Five Mountain West football student-athletes are among the 50 candidates for the 2012 Rimington Trophy, given to the nation's top center.  Colorado State junior Weston Richburg, New Mexico junior Dillon Farrell and Wyoming senior Nick Carlson, who were named to the 2011 watch list, were recognized for the second consecutive year and are joined by San Diego State senior Alec Johnson and UNLV sophomore Robert Waterman.  The Mountain West's five candidates tie for the second-most of any league.

Former TCU center Jake Kirkpatrick received the 2010 Rimington Trophy to become the first center from a MW institution to garner the award.

About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I-A football. The eleven-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from four existing All-America Teams:

  • American Football Coaches Association (AFCA)
  • Walter Camp Foundation
  • Sporting News
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

The recipient of the 2012 Rimington Trophy will be honored at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 12, 2013.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

The following is a list of those named to the 2012 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List.

2012 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List
Name School Height Weight Class
Eloy Atkinson UTEP 6'3" 305 Senior
Mario Benavides Louisville 6'4" 301 RS Senior
Nick Carlson Wyoming 6'4" 292 Senior
Braxston Cave Notre Dame 6'3" 304 Graduate
Reese Dismukes Auburn 6'3" 302 Sophomore
Trent Dupy Tulsa 6'2" 285 Senior
Dillon Farrell New Mexico 6'5" 290 Junior
James Ferentz Iowa 6'2" 284 Senior
Jay Finch Georgia Tech 6'3" 283 RS Junior
B.J. Finney Kansas State 6'4" 303 Sophomore
Travis Frederick Wisconsin 6'4" 328 Junior
Dalton Freeman Clemson 6'5" 285 Graduate
James Fry TCU 6'3" 290 Senior
Kevin Galeher Western Michigan 6'3" 300 Senior
Hronis Grasu Oregon 6'3" 284 Sophomore
Ben Habern Oklahoma 6'4" 292 Senior
Gus Handler Colorado 6'3" 295 Junior
Jonotthan Harrison Florida 6'3" 300 RS Junior
Khaled Holmes USC 6'4" 305 Senior
Andre Huval Louisiana 6'1" 305 Junior
Alec Johnson San Diego State 6'3" 300 Senior
T.J. Johnson South Carolina 6'6" 319 Senior
Barrett Jones Alabama 6'5" 302 Senior
Zac Kerin Toledo 6'5" 294 Junior
Tyler Larsen Utah State 6'4" 308 Junior
Patrick Lewis Texas A&M 6'2" 306 Senior
P.J. Lonergan LSU 6'4" 305 Senior
Mackey MacPerson Syracuse 6'2" 269 Junior
Joe Madsen West Virginia 6'4" 310 RS Senior
Mike Marboe Idaho 6'3" 301 Sophomore
Will Matte Indiana 6'2" 290 RS Senior
Blake McJunkin SMU 6'2" 295 Senior
Andrew Miller Virginia Tech 6'4" 300 RS Junior
Graham Pocic Illinois 6'7" 305 Senior
Ryan Powis Army 6'0" 257 Sophomore
Austin Quattrochi Southern Mississippi 6'3" 292 RS Junior
Jordan Rae UCF 6'2" 275 Senior
Weston Richburg Colorado State 6'4" 297 Junior
Sam Schwartzstein Stanford 6'3" 290 Senior
Matt Smith Kentucky 6'4" 291 Senior
Matt Stankiewitch Penn State 6'3" 295 Senior
Tevita Stevens Utah 6'3" 302 Senior
Travis Swanson Arkansas 6'5" 305 Junior
Evan Swindall Ole Miss 6'2" 300 Junior
Ryan Turnley Pittsburgh 6'6" 320 Senior
Brandon Vitabile Northwestern 6'3" 300 Sophomore
Stephen Warner Louisiana Tech 6'0" 295 RS Senior
Robert Waterman UNLV 6'2" 290 Sophomore
Camden Wentz NC State 6'3" 225 Senior