Alec Johnson Named To Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List

May 24, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - San Diego State senior Alec Johnson is among 50 football players to be named to the 2012 Spring Watch List for the Rimington Trophy, which is awarded annually to the nation's best center. Johnson is one of just five players from the Mountain West to be a candidate for the award.

Johnson, one of SDSU's two returning starters on the offensive lineman, enters the 2012 campaign having made 29 career starts and is slated to start at center for the second consecutive year. Last season, the Denver, Colo., native never missed a game despite breaking his snapping hand (right) in the Aztecs' season opener. The MW academic all-conference honoree also helped SDSU rush for nearly 2,400 yards as well as finish among the nation's leaders in fewest sacks allowed (T-7th, 0.85 per game) and in fewest tackles for a loss allowed (15th, 4.46 per game).

The Rimington Trophy committee bases the award on All-America teams chosen by the American Football Coaches Association, Walter Camp Foundation, the Sporting News and the Football Writers Association of America. The winner will be announced at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 12, 2013.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

Season tickets are currently available by calling (619) 283-7378 or online at SDSU's first home game of the season, Sept. 8 against Army, will kickoff at 4:30 p.m. PT and will be televised by NBC Sports Network. The game will also serve as the annual GEICO Fleet Week Classic.