Waterman Named To Rimington Watch List

May 25, 2012

LAS VEGAS (UNLVRebels.com) - UNLV offensive lineman Robert Waterman is one of 50 players named to the 2012 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List, the award's committee announced this week.

The Rimington Trophy is awarded each year to the nation's top college football center. The winner will be honored at a banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 12, 2013.

Waterman, a native of Castaic, Calif., and graduate of West Ranch High School, is one of just seven sophomores on this year's list. He heads into his second season as the Rebels' anchor in the middle after starting all 12 games at center last fall.

Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The 12-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised nearly $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

The following is a list of those named to the 2012 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List:
Eloy Atkinson, UTEP
Mario Benavides, Louisville
Nick Carlson, Wyoming
Braxston Cave, Notre Dame
Reese Dismukes, Auburn
Trent Dupy, Tulsa
Dillon Farrell, New Mexico
James Ferentz, Iowa
Jay Finch, Georgia Tech
B.J. Finney, Kansas State
Travis Frederick, Wisconsin
Dalton Freeman, Clemson
James Fry, TCU
Kevin Galeher, Western Michigan
Hronis Grasu, Oregon
Ben Habern, Oklahoma
Gus Handler, Colorado
Jonotthan Harrison, Florida
Khaled Holmes, USC
Andre Huval, Louisiana-Lafayette
Alec Johnson, San Diego State
T.J. Johnson, South Carolina
Barrett Jones, Alabama
Zac Kerin, Toledo
Tyler Larsen, Utah State
Patrick Lewis, Texas A&M
P.J. Lonergan, LSU
Mackey MacPerson, Syracuse
Joe Madsen, West Virginia
Mike Marboe, Idaho
Will Matte, Indiana
Blake McJunkin, SMU
Andrew Miller, Virginia Tech
Graham Pocic, Illinois
Ryan Powis, Army
Ryan Powis, Army
Austin Quattrochi, Southern Mississippi
Jordan Rae, UCF
Weston Richburg, Colorado State
Sam Schwartzstein, Stanford
Matt Smith, Kentucky
Matt Stankiewitch, Penn State
Tevita Stevens, Utah
Travis Swanson, Arkansas
Evan Swindall, Ole Miss
Ryan Turnley, Pittsburgh
Brandon Vitabile, Northwestern
Stephen Warner, Louisiana Tech
Robert Waterman, UNLV
Camden Wentz, NC State