Trio of Lobos Earn Phil Steele's First-Team All-MW Recognition

May 26, 2013

Phil Steele's 2013 Preseason All-MW Teams Get Acrobat Reader

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. -- Three University of New Mexico football players have made Phil Steele’s 2013 Mountain West All-Preseason first team.

Senior running back Kasey Carrier, senior punter Ben Skaer and junior kickoff returner Chase Clayton each received first-team honors, the magazine announced.

Carrier set a school record with 1,469 rushing yards in 2012 to go along with 15 touchdowns. Skaer ranked 17th nationally in punting with a 43.85-yard average per attempt. Clayton was No. 5 in the nation in kickoff returns with an average of 30.4 yards per run-back.

UNM placed nine players on the Phil Steele’s MW team. Junior left guard LaMar Bratton received second-team honors.

Fellow offensive linemen Dillon Farrell and Darryl Johnson earned third-team recognition. Farrell is a senior center and Rimington Trophy watch list member. Johnson is a senior left tackle who graded out as the top UNM linemen in 2012.

On defense, senior inside linebacker Dallas Bollema and senior defensive end Jacori Greer also made the third team. Bollema led UNM in tackles with 89 last season, and Greer had eight tackles for loss and five sacks to lead the defense.

Outside linebacker Javarie Johnson made the fourth-team defense.

The honors are the latest of the early preseason MW honor list. Carrier and Skaer earned first-team recognition on Bleacher Report, and selected Carrier and Bollema to first-team All-MW.