Blue Ribbon Yearbook selects 4 Rams to all-MW squad

July 6, 2012

Stuart Buchanan
Athletic Media Relations

FORT COLLINS, Colo. – Colorado State junior running back Chris Nwoke, junior offensive lineman Weston Richburg, junior linebacker Shaquil Barrett and senior punter Pete Kontodiakos have been named to the Blue Ribbon Yearbook preseason all-Mountain West team.

These four Rams are not new to preseason all-MW teams as they were also named to Phil Steele’s first-team all-MW squad.

Nwoke, a 6-0, 213-pound running back from Highlands Ranch, Colo., led the Rams in rushing last season with 1,130 yards and 9 touchdowns. He was the Rams first 1,000-yard rusher since Gartrell Johnson III in 2008.

Richburg, the Rams center for the past two seasons, had one goal going into the 2011 season, help his running back rush for 1,000 yards and he did just that. Richburg hasn’t missed a start during his collegiate career, even when he broke his right snapping hand. Richburg moved to tackle for two games, but finished the season back at center snapping with his left hand.

Barrett, transferred to Colorado State and was immediately eligible after Nebraska-Omaha disbanded its football program. He quickly adapted to the program and ended the 2011 season as the Rams leading tackler with 99, including 2½ sacks and scoring two defensive touchdowns.

Kontodiakos, the Rams punter for three years, was second in the MW in punting last season with an average of 43.63. This average also landed him in the top-20 nationally. The Rams punter has also been named to the College Football Performance Award 2012 CFPA Punter watch list.

The Blue Ribbon Yearbook also released a preseason poll with the Rams slotted to finish seventh in the Mountain West.