Fresno State's Carr, Rouse Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

July 9, 2012


The Maxwell Football Club announced Monday morning its watch list for the 75th annual Maxwell Award given to America's outstanding football player and Fresno State's Derek Carr and Robbie Rouse were named as candidates.

Carr and Rouse were the only players from the Mountain West on the 2012 Maxwell Award watch list and Fresno State was one of 13 schools in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) with multiple players named to the list comprised of 65 players.

Entering his senior season, Rouse returns as the nation's third-active leading rusher. Only Wisconsin's Montee Ball (3,310) and Michigan's Denard Robinson (3,229) have more career rushing yards than Rouse at 3,157. Both Ball and Robinson were also named to the Maxwell Award watch list.

Rouse is 317 yards away from breaking the school's all-time rushing record that was set in 1993 by Ron Rivers (3,473). The 5-7, 190-pound San Diego native has 12 career 100-yard games, 25 touchdowns and is second all-time in school history with 616 carries.

Carr, a 6-3, 210-pound quarterback from Bakersfield, Calif., is coming off his sophomore season in which he ranked 15th nationally with 3,544 passing yards. He set a Fresno State record in 2011 for most passing yards by a sophomore and registered the sixth 3,000-yard passing season in school history.

Carr completed 279-of-446 passes in 2011 and had 26 touchdowns against just nine interceptions. He threw for 278.2 yards per game, which ranked No. 22 nationally, and completed 62.6 percent of his passes in his first year as a starter.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, evaluating past performances and future potential.

The watch lists incorporates a broad spectrum of FBS programs and conferences from coast to coast. Returning Maxwell Award semifinalists from 2011 include USC QB Matt Barkley, Clemson QB Tajh Boyd, Oklahoma QB Landry Jones and USC WR Robert Woods.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced on Oct. 29 and the three finalists for the award will be unveiled Nov. 19. The winner of the 2012 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 6.

The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 1, 2013.