Five MW Football Student-Athletes Represented on 2012 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List

July 10, 2012


Five Mountain West football student-athletes are among the candidates for the 2012 Rimington Trophy, given to the nation's top center. Colorado State junior Weston Richburg, New Mexico junior Dillon Farrell, San Diego State senior Alec Johnson, UNLV sophomore Robert Waterman and Wyoming senior Nick Carlson have been selected to the 2012 fall watch list, which currently is comprised of 51 Football Bowl Subdivision players.

The SEC leads the way with 10 candidates on the list, while the Big Ten follows with six players. The Mountain West, ACC, Conference USA and the Pac-12 all check in with five players each.

The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I-A football. The twelve-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from four existing All-America Teams:

  • American Football Coaches Association (AFCA)
  • Walter Camp Foundation
  • Sporting News
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

This season’s award winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 12, 2013.