CSU's Gillmore named to John Mackey Award watch list

July 10, 2012

By Stuart Buchanan
Athletic Media Relations

BETHPAGE, N.Y. – Ten days before the 2011 spring game Crockett Gillmore was practicing with the defensive unit. The next day Gillmore was moved to tight end, where he started 12 games for the Rams.

On Tuesday Gillmore received national recognition when the Nassau County Sports Commission named him one of 33 candidates for the John Mackey Award, presented annually to the country’s top tight end.

Gillmore, a 6-foot-6, 245-pound junior, is one of three Mountain West tight ends on the watch list. He made the John Mackey midseason watch list in 2011, and went on to lead the Rams in receptions, receiving yards and receiving touchdowns.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The award will be presented to the country’s top tight end on Dec. 6, 2012.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists eleven NFL players as alumni: 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('01) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the Seattle Seahawks, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the Chicago Bears, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Tampa Bay Bucaneers, Aaron Hernandez ('09) of the New England Patriots, D.J. Williams ('10) of the Green Bay Packers and the 2011 John Mackey Award recipient Dwayne Allen of the Indianapolis Colts.