Two Mountain West Football Student-Athletes Named To Nagurski Trophy Watch List

July 12, 2012


Fresno State senior linebacker Travis Brown and San Diego State senior defensive back Leon McFadden are among 84 football student-athletes named to the Watch List for the 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, presented annually to the nation's best defensive player.

Brown, a native of Fresno, Calif., registered 85 tackles last season, including 8.5 for loss. He also tallied three sacks and three pass breakups during his junior campaign.

Hailing from Inglewood, Calif., McFadden led the Mountain West in passes defended (17) in 2011. He also notched 46 tackles, two interceptions and a sack last season.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. The trophy has been presented since 1993 and is awarded in memory of Nagurski, an All-America lineman at Minnesota in 1927-29 and a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s.

Players may be added or deleted from the Bronko Nagurski Watch List during the season. For the 12th straight season, the FWAA will choose a National Defensive Player of the Week. If that player is not on the Watch List, he automatically will be added. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 15.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner is chosen from five finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the Bronko Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet presented by ACN will be on Dec. 3 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Boston College linebacker Luke Kuechly earned the award in 2011.