Three MW Football Student-Athletes Named to 2012 Outland Trophy Watch List

July 12, 2012


Three Mountain West football student-athletes have been named to the Watch List for the 2012 Outland Trophy, awarded annually to the top interior lineman in college football. Boise State’s Joe Kellogg, Colorado State’s Weston Richburg and Nevada’s Chris Barker are among 71 candidates for the award, the Football Writers Association of America announced Wednesday.

An offensive guard from Scottsdale, Ariz., Kellogg is a three-year starter for the Broncos entering 2012, and has helped Boise State finish ranked first- and third-nationally in sacks allowed the last two seasons, giving up 0.62 per game in 2011 and 2010, respectively. Kellogg has also helped lead an offensive unit that has ranked in the top five in scoring offense in each of the last three seasons, finishing first in 2009, second in 2010 and fifth in 2011.

Richburg, a center from Bushland, Texas, started all 12 games for the Rams last season, anchoring a Colorado State offensive line that helped running back Chris Nwoke rush for 1,130 yards, the most by a Ram since 2008. A versatile lineman, Richburg started 10 games at center and two games at tackle in 2011.

Hailing from Fontana, Calif., Barker has started all 40 games of his collegiate career at offensive guard for Nevada. Barker was a first-team all-WAC selection last year as a junior after being named to the second team as a sophomore.

Of the 71 players on the watch list, 18 defensive tackles occupied spots. The rest of the linemen were on offense.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on Nov. 19. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner of the 67th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6 on ESPN.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 10, 2013, in Omaha, Neb.

Alabama offensive tackle Barrett Jones earned the award last season.