Fresno State's Carr, Nevada's Fajardo Named to 2012 Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

July 18, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Fresno State junior Derek Carr and Nevada sophomore Cody Fajardo are among 34 football student-athletes named to the Watch List for the 2012 Davey O'Brien Award, presented annually to the nation's top quarterback.

A native of Bakersfield, Calif., Carr ranked 15th nationally with 3,544 passing yards last season, while also tallying 26 touchdowns against just nine interceptions during his sophomore campaign. He threw for 278.2 yards per game and completed 62.6 percent of his passes (279-of-446) in his first year as a starter.

A product of Brea, Calif., Fajardo earned Western Athletic Conference Freshman of the Year honors in 2011, finishing with 2,401 yards of total offense and 17 touchdowns in 10 games. Fajardo completed 150-of-218 passes for 1,707 yards and six touchdowns through the air, while also amassing 786 rushing yards and 11 scores on the ground.

Presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback, the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O'Brien, which is named after TCU's 1938 Heisman Trophy-winning signal caller, honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics.

This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of The O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation's top collegiate quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2012 college football season.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to earn the Davey O'Brien award. Quarterbacks from all 120 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 22. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2012 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 6.

Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III earned the award last season.