Walter Kazee Named to Doak Walker Award Watch List

July 19, 2012

DALLAS - San Diego State senior Walter Kazee has been named a preseason candidate for the 2012 Doak Walker Award, presented annually to the nation's top running back. Kazee is one of 52 candidates on the preseason list and one of three from the Mountain West.

Last year, Kazee rushed for 339 yards and four touchdowns on 74 carries (4.6 yards per rush) before a knee injury in the ninth game sidelined him for the rest of the season. Kazee also caught eight passes for 89 yards. For his career, the San Bernardino, Calif., native has 1,042 rushing yards and nine touchdowns on 229 rushes (4.6 yards per carry). Additionally, Kazee has 191 yards receiving on 19 catches.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists on Nov. 9, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on Nov. 19. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on Nov. 26 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2012 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas in February of 2013.

The award, in its 23rd year, is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Kazee is the fifth Aztec to be named to a 2012 national award preseason watch list, joining tight end Gavin Escobar (John Mackey Award and Rotary Lombardi Award), center Alec Johnson (Rimington Trophy), wide receiver Colin Lockett (Biletnikoff Award) and Leon McFadden (Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Jim Thorpe Award).

Aztecs on 2012 Preseason Watch Lists
Gavin Escobar
* John Mackey Award Watch List (Most Outstanding Tight End)
* Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List (Top Lineman)

Alec Johnson
* Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List (Best Center)

Walter Kazee
* Doak Award Watch List (Top Running Back)

Colin Lockett
* Biletnikoff Award Watch List (Most Outstanding Wide Receiver)

Leon McFadden
* Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List (Best Defensive Player)
* Jim Thorpe Award Watch List (Best Defensive Back)