2012 Mountain West Football Preseason All-Conference Team

July 24, 2012

LAS VEGAS - The 2012 Preseason all-Mountain West Football Team was announced today at the league's annual Media Days, held at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas. The team, as selected by members of the media, features eight players that were all-MW selections in 2011, including three first-team honorees. The 25-member squad is comprised of 16 seniors, eight juniors and one sophomore.

Fresno State junior quarterback Derek Carr was named Preseason MW Offensive Player of the Year, while San Diego State senior defensive back Leon McFadden was selected Preseason MW Defensive Player of the Year and Boise State redshirt senior return specialist Mitch Burroughs was tabbed Preseason MW Special Teams Player of the Year.

In 2011, Carr threw for 3,544 yards to rank 15th nationally on the season and third all-time at Fresno State. During his sophomore campaign, the native of Bakersfield, Calif., tallied 26 touchdowns against just nine interceptions. He threw for 272.6 yards per game and completed 62.6 percent of his passes (279-of-446) in his first year as a starter. His 279 completions and 446 attempts ranked as the second-most ever by a Fresno State signal caller in a single season.

McFadden led the Mountain West and ranked 12th nationally in passes defended (17) last season. The Inglewood, Calif., product also notched 46 tackles (35 solo), 15 pass breakups, three tackles for loss (-11 yards), two interceptions and a sack.

Burroughs ranked first in the Mountain West and eighth nationally in punt returns a year ago, averaging 13.3 yards on 18 returns. The senior from Meridian, Idaho, returned five kickoffs in 2011 for 114 yards and ranked third on the Broncos with 947 all-purpose yards.

2012 Mountain West Football
Preseason All-Conference Team
QB Derek Carr Jr. Fresno State

WR Matt Miller R-So. Boise State

WR Colin Lockett Jr. San Diego State

RB Robbie Rouse Sr. Fresno State

RB Chris Nwoke** Jr. Colorado State

OL Chris Barker Sr. Nevada

OL Joe Kellogg R-Sr. Boise State

OL Weston Richburg** Jr. Colorado State

OL Nick Carlson** Sr. Wyoming

OL Jeff Nady Sr. Nevada

TE Gavin Escobar* Jr. San Diego State

DL Mike Purcell Sr. Wyoming

DL Mike Atkinson R-Sr. Boise State

DL Paipai Falemalu Sr. Hawai`i

DL Jack Reynoso Jr. Nevada

LB Travis Brown Sr. Fresno State

LB Shaquil Barrett Jr. Colorado State

LB Alex Means Sr. Air Force

DB Leon McFadden* Sr. San Diego State

DB Duke Williams Sr. Nevada

DB Luke Ruff** Sr. Wyoming

DB Jamar Taylor R-Sr. Boise State

P Pete Kontodiakos** Sr. Colorado State

PK Parker Herrington#* Sr. Air Force

Ret. Mitch Burroughs R-Sr. Boise State

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year:
Derek Carr, Jr., QB, Fresno State
Preseason Defensive Player of the Year:
Leon McFadden, Sr., DB, San Diego State
Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year:
Mitch Burroughs, R-Sr., RS, Boise State
# - unanimous 2012 preseason selection.
* - member of the 2011 All-Mountain West first-team.
** - member of the 2011 All-Mountain West second-team.

Full coverage of the 2012 Mountain West Football Media Day activities can be found online. For press releases, live streams and archived videos, photo galleries, blogs and more, visit Media Day Central by clicking HERE.

You can also follow the Mountain West on the league's official social media channels:

Mountain West on Twitter @TheMWC | @TheMWCOlySports | @MW_MHoops | @MW_WHoops
MW Football Hashtag: #MWFB

Mountain West on Facebook Facebook.com/MountainWestConference | Mountain West on YouTube YouTube.com/MountainWestConf