Football Announces Team Captains

Aug. 29, 2012

By Jason Clay

FRESNO, Calif. - Fresno State head coach Tim DeRuyter announced Wednesday the team captains for the 2012 season. Seniors Robbie Rouse, Phillip Thomas and Andrew Shapiro along with juniors Derek Carr and Jeremiah Toma were named the team captains.

In years past, the Bulldogs would select captains on a game-by-game basis and at the end of the season the team would select season captains. Both Carr and Toma were selected team captains at the end of last season.

This year, the five captains will remain the same for the entire season.

There is plenty of experience within the group, as the five captains have combined to play in 144 games while making 60 starts.

Carr and Rouse were both All-Conference performers last year for the Bulldogs. Toma and Thomas are the leaders on defense and Shapiro, with 38 career games played in, has appeared in the third-most games of any player on the team.

The captains are ready to lead the Bulldogs into the 2012 season opener against Weber State this Saturday. Kickoff from Bulldog Stadium is set for 7 p.m.

In addition to the team captains, former Bulldogs Chris Pacheco and Kevin Sweeney will be serving as honorary captains at Saturday's game.

"Discover Fresno State Football" - Fresno State season tickets are now on sale for as low as $140, less than $24 per game, through the Bulldog Ticket Office, online at and can be purchased over the phone at 559-278-DOGS. Remember to vote every day for Fresno State at and wear your Bulldog red on Aug. 31 for College Colors Day.