Vote for Derek Carr for the Davey O'Brien Award

Fresno State fans can cast their vote for junior quarterback Derek Carr for the Davey O'Brien Award given to the nation's best college quarterback.

The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced that voting is now open and fans can vote as often as once daily at

"The Davey O'Brien is one of the few college football awards that gives fans an opportunity to play a significant role in the selection process," said Danielle Moorman, executive director of the Davey O'Brien Foundation. "We're looking forward to excellent fan participation given the strength at the quarterback position this year."

The 2012 season marks the sixth year fans have participated in the voting. The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. Fan Vote totals are cleared after each voting round.

The Fan Vote Process

Round One: Sept. 4 - Oct. 21
Beginning Sept. 4, fans will have all 124 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision starting quarterbacks to choose from until the voting for semifinalists closes at noon Central Time (CT) on Oct. 21.

Round Two: Oct. 22 - Nov. 18
The Fan Vote will re-open October 22 following the announcement of the 16 semifinalists. Fans may vote for quarterbacks on the semifinalist list to help determine which three will advance as finalists. Fan voting will close at noon CT on Nov. 18.

Round Three: Nov. 19 - Dec. 2
The Fan Vote will re-open for the final round of voting on Nov. 19 following the announcement of the three finalists. Fans may select from the three finalists to help determine who will be the Davey O'Brien Winner. Fan voting will close at noon CT on Dec. 2.

The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 6 on ESPN and will be honored at the 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

"Discover Fresno State Football" - Join Fresno State legends and Super Bowl champions Trent Dilfer and David Carr in becoming a part of Fresno State forever by uploading your picture for free to the Bulldog Stadium Fan Mosaic. To upload your picture, please visit: