Three MW Players Named to 2012 Mackey Award Midseason Watch List

Oct. 15, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Nassau County Sports Commission announced on Monday that three Mountain West players were named to the midseason watch list for the 2012 John Mackey Award, given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end.  Colorado State junior Crockett Gillmore, Nevada senior Zach Sudfeld and San Diego State junior Gavin Escobar were among the 26 tight ends to make the midseason list.  The Mountain West is one of four FBS leagues (Big Ten, Pac-12, SEC) with at least three tight ends represented on the midseason Mackey Award list.

Gillmore returns to the Mackey Award's midseason watch list for the second straight year. The junior from Bushland, Texas, has 14 receptions this season for 205 yards and two touchdowns to rank fifth for the Rams. Gillmore is averaging 14.6 yards per catch and 29.3 yards per game.

A product of Modesto, Calif., Sudfeld was added to the Mackey Award midseason watch list. The sixth-year senior ranks third among Wolf Pack receivers with 304 yards on the year off 25 receptions, averaging 12.2 yards per catch and 43.4 yard per game. Sudfeld has seven touchdowns this season, all of which have been scored in his last six games.

Escobar, who hails from Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif., joins Gillmore on the Mackey Award's midseason watch list for the second straight season. The junior leads San Diego State in receiving with 21 catches for 278 yards and two touchdowns. Escobar is averaging 13.2 yards per reception and 39.7 yards per game.

The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2012 John Mackey winner will be presented live on December 6, 2012 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show airing at 6:30 p.m. ET on ESPNU. Additional information pertaining to the award can be found at

2012 Mackey Award Midseason Watch List
Name Team Class
Alex Bayer Bowling Green Jr.
Kyle Carter Penn State Fr.
Chris Coyle Arizona State Jr.
Jack Doyle Western Kentucky Sr.
Tyler Eifert Notre Dame Sr.
Eric Ebron North Carolina So.
Zach Ertz Stanford Sr.
Gavin Escobar San Diego State Jr.
Joseph Fauria UCLA Sr.
Brandon Ford Clemson Sr.
Crockett Gillmore Colorado State Jr.
Chris Gragg Arkanasas Sr.
Marcus Green Mississippi State Sr.
Chase Harper Texas State Sr.
Gator Hoskins Marshall Jr.
Nick Kasa Colorado Sr.
Ryan Otten San Jose State Sr.
Jacob Pedersen Wisconsin Jr.
Kyler Reed Nebraska Sr.
Zach Sudfeld Nevada Sr.
Jordan Reed Florida Jr.
Mychal Rivera Tennessee Sr.
Austin Seferian-Jenkins Washington So.
Dion Sims Michigan State Jr.
Levine Toilolo Stanford Jr.
Luke Willson Rice Sr.