Nevada's Jefferson Named a Semifinalist for Doak Walker Award

Nov. 9, 2012

DALLAS, TEXAS - The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced today the ten semifinalists for the 2012 Doak Walker Award. The semifinalists (in alphabetical order) are:

  • Montee Ball, Sr., Wisconsin
  • Kenjon Barner, Sr., Oregon
  • Le'Veon Bell, Jr., Michigan State
  • Giovani Bernard, So., North Carolina
  • David Fluellen, Jr., Toledo
  • Johnathan Franklin, Sr., UCLA
  • Stefphon Jefferson, Jr., Nevada
  • Venric Mark, Jr., Northwestern
  • Joseph Randle, Jr., Oklahoma State
  • Stepfan Taylor, Sr., Stanford

Jefferson continues to lead the nation in rushing with his average of 149.0 yards per game. He's tied for sixth in the nation in scoring with 17 touchdowns on the year, an average of 11.33 points per game that also leads the Mountain West.

Earlier this year, he became the fastest Nevada player to reach the 1,00-yard mark in rushing, doing so in just seven games. Be shattered eight school and conference records with his seven-touchdown performance (six rushing) in Nevada's win at Hawai`i in week four.

Members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes to determine the 2012 finalists. On Monday, November 19, three finalists will be named. A second vote by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will determine the recipient. The 2012 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 6, on ESPN.

The Award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.


Honoring the legends of sports for 23 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,