San Diego State Leads After First Round of 2012 Mountain West Men's Golf Championship

May 4, 2012

  • 2012 MW Men's Golf Championship Central
  • 2012 MW Men's Golf Championship Live Results
  • 2012 MW Men's Golf Championship Day 1 Results
  • 2012 MW Men's Golf Championship Day 2 Pairings and Tee Times
  • Buy Championship Photos!
  • Buy Championship Gear!

    TUCSON, Ariz. - Defending champion San Diego State holds a one stroke lead over New Mexico after the first round of the 2012 Mountain West Men's Golf Championship, being played May 4-6 on the Catalina Course at OMNI Tucson National Golf, (Par 71, 7,144 yards), in Tucson, Ariz.

    The Aztecs' first-round score of 4-under-par 280 is one shot better than second place New Mexico, who carded a 3-under 281. TCU is currently in third position with a 2-under 282, followed by Colorado State in fourth at an even-par 284 and UNLV in fifth at 1-over 285. Boise State is sixth (8-over 292), Wyoming is seventh (10-over 294) and Air Force in eighth (13-over 297).

    Colorado State's Zahkai Brown is the individual leader after firing a 5-under 66. His day included an eagle (on the 15th hole), six birdies and three bogeys. Brown was one of three players to card an eagle in the first round, along with teammate Parker Eden (10th hole) and TCU's Johan de Beer (10th hole). There is a two-way tie for second place in the individual standings at 4-under between the Horned Frogs' de Beer and San Diego State's Alex Kang. Colorado State's Kirby Pettitt is fourth with a 2-under 69. Several players are tied for fifth at 1-under 70.

    Second round action begins at 7 a.m. PT Saturday morning, followed by the final 18 holes Sunday at 7 a.m. Live scoring is available at and

    Team Standings Scores
    1. San Diego State 280 (-4)
    2. New Mexico 281 (-3)
    3. TCU 282 (-2)
    4. Colorado State 284 (E)
    5. UNLV 285 (+1)
    6. Boise State 292 (+8)
    7. Wyoming 294 (+10)
    8. Air Force 297 (+13)

    Individual Standings Scores
    1. Zahkai Brown, Colorado State 66 (-5)
    2. Johan de Beer, TCU 67 (-4)
      Alex Kang, San Diego State 67 (-4)
    4. Kirby Pettitt, Colorado State 69 (-2)
    5. Tom Berry, San Diego State 70 (-1)
      Julien Brun, TCU 70 (-1)
      Gavin Green, New Mexico 70 (-1)
      Kurt Kitayama, UNLV 70 (-1)
      Victor Perez, New Mexico 70 (-1)
      Sean Romero, New Mexico 70 (-1)
      J.J. Spaun, San Diego State 70 (-1)

    Full coverage of the 2012 Mountain West Men's Golf Championship can be found online. Visit Championship Central for live scores, updated pairings, photos, videos and more. You can also follow the MW on its social media channels:

    Mountain West on Twitter @TheMWC | @TheMWCOlySports | @MW_MHoops | @MW_WHoops | @MWCMick

    Mountain West on Facebook | Mountain West on YouTube