De Beer Grabs Top-Medalist Honors at MW Championship

May 6, 2012


Follow TCU Men's Golf: Facebook | Twitter

TUCSON, Ariz.—TCU senior Johan de Beer claimed his second career individual victory Sunday, leading the Horned Frogs to runner-up honors in the final round of competition at the 2012 Mountain West Championship at OMNI Tucson National Resort. Freshman teammate Julien Brun tied for second place.

TCU jumped two spots in the final standings to second place after entering the day in fourth. The squad finished the weekend with a three-round total of 849 (-3). No. 14 San Diego State (-8) took home the conference championship, while the Frogs topped two higher-rated squads in No. 16 New Mexico (-1) and No. 7 UNLV (-1).

The Frogs finished as the MW runner up for the second consecutive year in its last season as a conference member before the squad joins the Big 12 next season. Overall, TCU posted one conference championship and three second-place finishes in seven seasons in the MW.

De Beer completed a sensational weekend by equaling the low round of the tournament with a final-round, 5-under-par 66, which also matched the second-best round of his TCU career. The score pushed his three-day total to -9, earning him a two-stroke victory over Brun and Colorado State’s Zahkai Brown, who shared second place (-7).

De Beer and Brun found themselves in a four-way tie for the individual lead with six holes remaining before the senior from Pretoria, South Africa, gained control of the leaderboard down the stretch. De Beer played the back nine at -3 and took the individual lead for good with his final birdie of the day on the 428-yard, par-4 16th hole. He played mistake-free golf overall in his final round, collecting five birdies against no bogeys. For the weekend, he finished with 12 birdies and one eagle against only five bogeys.

The individual performance by de Beer earned him his second career top-medalist honor and his first conference crown. He joined an exclusive club of TCU golfers who have won multiple tournament titles in a career, becoming the sixth Frog to accomplish the feat since 1980. Brun joined the list earlier this season before earning a school-record third win at last month’s Augusta State Invitational. De Beer’s previous win came during his freshman season at The Prestige at PGA West in Fall 2008.

De Beer also became the fifth Frog to earn an individual conference championship since 1980. J.J. Henry (1998 WAC), Bret Guetz (2001 C- USA), Drew Stoltz (2005 C-USA) and Robby Ormand (2007 Mountain West) also claimed the top conference position during their careers.

While de Beer finished atop the individual leaderboard, Brun also continued his outstanding season by finishing tied for second place thanks to a 3-under final-round 68. He opened his round with a bogey before birdying five of the next 14 holes to climb into a share of first place. After de Beer took the lead for good with a birdie on 16, Brun bogeyed hole 18 to fall into a share of second place with Brown.

Brun, a semifinalist for The Ben Hogan Award given to the nation’s top collegiate golfer, has now finished in the top 5 in six of 11 tournaments this season and among the top-20 individuals all but once.

Also contributing to TCU’s team total Sunday was junior Daniel Jennevret, who carded a 3-over 74 to finish tied for 19th place overall (+4). The result matched Jennevret’s best previous finish in his third career appearance at the MW Championship. He also tied for 17th place last season as a sophomore.

Freshman Thomas Mantovanini (+12) and sophomore Ian Phillips (+13) earned respective shares of 34th and 38th. Phillips’ final-round 73 counted toward TCU’s total, while Mantovanini recorded a 76.

TCU will now await word of whether it will earn an at-large bid to the NCAA Regional Championships, which would be the squad’s 23rd consecutive appearance in the national postseason. The field will be announced via a live selection show on beginning Monday at 9 p.m. EDT.

Tucson, Ariz. (Catalina Course at OMNI Tucson National Resort)
May 6, 2012
Final Results

1. San Diego State – (-8; 280-278-286=844)
2. TCU – (-3; 282-286-281=849)
3. New Mexico – (-1; 281-282-288=851)
    UNLV – (-1; 285-284-282=851)
5. Colorado State – (+1; 284-283-286=853)
6. Boise State – (+19; 292-291-288=871)
7. Air Force – (+30; 297-293-292=882)
8. Wyoming – (+39; 294-296-301=891)

1. Johan de Beer, TCU – (-9; 67-71-66=204)  
2. Julien Brun, TCU – (-7; 70-68-68=206)
    Zahkai Brown, Colorado State – (-7; 66-72-68=206)
4. Alex Kang, San Diego State – (-3; 67-70-73=210)
5. Tom Berry, San Diego State – (-2; 70-67-74=211)
    James Erkenbeck, New Mexico – (-2; 72-68=71=211)
    Kirby Pettitt, Colorado State – (-2; 69-69-73=211)
    Scott Spiewak, Boise State – (-2; 71-72-68=211)
t17. Daniel Jennevret, TCU – (+4; 72-71-74=217)
t34. Thomas Mantovanini, TCU – (+12; 73-76-76=225)
t36. Ian Phillips, TCU – (+13; 73-80-73=226)