TCU's Brun, UNLV's Ernst Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List

Feb. 8, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - TCU freshman Julien Brun and UNLV senior Derek Ernst have each been included on the 2012 Ben Hogan Award watch list, which was announced Wednesday by Baird Private Wealth Management, in association with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).  The list is comprised of 28 collegiate golfers, and the Mountain West is one of six leagues (ACC, Big 12, Big Ten, Pac-12, SEC) with multiple nominees.

The most prestigious award in men's college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period.

Brun is one of only five freshman included among the 28 nominees and is the first Horned Frog golfer ever included on The Hogan watch list. The native of Antibes, France, has placed among the top-13 in each of TCU's five tournaments this season, including top-3 finishes in each of his first three outings. Brun, who is currently 13th nationally in the latest Golfweek/Sagarin rankings, has the second-best stroke average in the Mountain West (70.60).

Ernst is a two-time nominee, after being named to the 2010 Hogan Award watch list. The Clovis, Calif., product has posted three top-five finishes in four tournaments this season, leading UNLV to three team victories. Ernst, who is ranked 22nd in the Golfweek/Sagarin standings, leads the league in stroke average at 70.00 over 12 rounds, including seven rounds under par.

A list of 10 semifinalists for The Ben Hogan Award will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 11, and then will be pared down to three finalists on Thursday, May 10. The winner will be crowned at a banquet at Colonial Country Club on Monday, May 21, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR's Crowne Plaza Invitational.

Former MW recipients of The Hogan include New Mexico's Wil Collins (2001) and UNLV's Ryan Moore (2005).