Frogs Return to Links Sunday at Sawgrass

Feb. 25, 2012


FORT WORTH—The TCU men’s golf team returns to action for its second tournament of the spring season this week when it travels to Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., for the annual John Hayt Collegiate Invitational held at historic Sawgrass Country Club.

The Horned Frogs will start things off with a practice round Saturday, while the tournament itself will feature three days of 18-hole competition Sunday through Tuesday. The first groups tee off at 8 a.m. ET each morning.

TCU will be playing in its second tournament of the spring following a strong opening debut earlier this month at the Amer Ari Inviational in Waikoloa, Hawaii. The squad finished sixth among a very competitive 20-team field, defeating three top-25 ranked opponents. The performance moved TCU into the No. 36 spot in the latest Golfweek/Sagarin national rankings.

The Frogs will field the same lineup as it did in Hawaii: freshman Julien Brun, junior Daniel Jennevret, senior Johan de Beer, junior Pontus Gad and sophomore Johnny Antle. Brun has moved into the No. 13 spot in the individual Golfweek/Sagarin rankings after rallying for a 13th-place finish at the Amer Ari Invitational, while Jennevret (No. 63) also is listed among the nation’s top-100 golfers.

Another quality field will face the Frogs this weekend, led by four top-25 teams in Arkansas (No. 7), LSU (No. 14), North Florida (No. 16) and UCF (No. 19). Filling out the field will be UAB (No. 30), Tennessee (No. 37), North Texas (No. 39), Tulsa (No. 47), Ole Miss (No. 59), Georgia Southern (No. 80), Coastal Carolina, Mercer, Furman and Jacksonville.

Among the individual talent expected to compete will be 18 of the nation’s top-100 golfers: No. 7 Sean Dale (North Florida), No. 13 Brun (TCU), No. 33 Ricardo Gouveia (UCF), No. 34 Ethan Tracy (Arkansas), No. 36 Andrew Presley (LSU), No. 49 Sang Yi (LSU), No. 51 Sebastian Cappelen (Arkansas), No. 53 Curtis Thompson (LSU), No. 57 Joe David (Ole Miss), No. 63 Jennevret (TCU), No. 64 Kevin Aylwin (North Florida), No. 73 Josh Eure (Arkansas), No. 77 Brad Schneider (UCF), No. 90 Kevin Phelan (North Florida), No. 94 Jose Joia (UCF), No. 95 Carlos Ortiz (North Texas), No. 96 Bobby Wyatt (Alabama) and No. 97 Garrick Porteous (Tennessee).

TCU will be playing in the John Hayt Collegiate Invitational for the fourth consecutive year. The squad finished last season’s tournament in ninth place with former Frog Scott Roudebush leading the team on the individual leaderboard in a tie for 11th place (+2).

Sawgrass Country Club is the former site of the PGA Tournament Players Championship, having played host to the event from 1977 through 1981 before it was moved to the nearby TPC Sawgrass Course. The John Hayt Collegiate tournament will feature a par-72 length of 6,962 yards.

Following this week’s tournament, TCU will continue its spring campaign March 9-11 at the Southern Highlands Collegiate Masters in Las Vegas, Nev.