SDSU's J.J. Spaun Named MW Golfer of the Month

April 5, 2012

SAN DIEGO - San Diego State senior J.J. Spaun has been named the Mountain West Men's Golfer of the Month for March, the conference office announced on Thursday. Spaun, who won three times in his four tournaments, earned his fourth career league honor and the first by an Aztec in 2011-12.

The San Dimas, Calif., native captured three consecutive medalist honors all during an 11-day span from March 13-23. He won his first title of the season at The Farms Collegiate Invitational in Rancho Santa Fe, overcoming a five-stroke deficit in the final 18 holes to win by two with a 4-under 212. Spaun followed that up four days later with a victory at the National Invitational Tournament in Tucson, edging runner-up Zach Blair of BYU by four strokes with a season-best 15-under 201, highlighted by a bogey-free second round 66. He finished out his run with a first-place performance at the Barona Collegiate Cup in Lakeside, helping the Aztecs claim both the team and individual championships with his 14-under 202.

For the month, Spaun increased his streak of rounds at or below par to 11 in a row, which included seven consecutive scores in the 60s over a span of three March events. The All-American is ranked 20th nationally in the latest Golfstat Cup rankings, is 24th according to Golfweek/Sagarin and boasts the MW"s second-best season stroke average at 71.04

Spaun's three individual titles are the most by an Aztec in a single year since Kevin Riley also won three in the spring of 1990, while his five career first-place finishes tie him for first in school history along with SDSU Hall of Famer Lennie Clements.

Twelfth-ranked San Diego State is currently in Arizona for the two-day, 54-hole Thunderbird Invitational in Tempe, April 6-7. Spaun is the two-time defending individual champion at the 39-year old event.

Spaun's Career Mountain West Golfer of the Month Awards: April 2012, February 2011, March 2011, April 2010

SDSU Career Record Book (since 1948) -
Individual Tournament Champions:

	1.	J.J. Spaun (2009-present)		5
		Lennie Clements (1976-79)		5
	3.	Kevin Riley (1990, 92-94)		4
		Kris Moe (1983-84)			4
		Greg Twiggs (1981-83)		        4
		Curt Worley (1976-78)		        4
		Alan Campbell (1961-62, 1964-65)	4
	8.	Lars Johansson (2000-03)		3
	9.	Thirteen tied			        2