2013 MW Men's Golf Championship Gets Underway Friday, May 3

May 1, 2013

Related Links
The 2013 Mountain West Men's Golf Championship will be played on the Catalina Course at OMNI Tucson National (par 71, 7,144 yards) in Tucson, Ariz., May 3-5. It is the seventh consecutive year the tournament will be held at Tucson National.

All nine Mountain West teams (Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, Fresno State, Nevada, New Mexico, San Diego State, UNLV and Wyoming) will participate in the 54-hole championship. 18 holes will be played each day (Friday-Sunday), with tee times beginning at 7 a.m. PT.

Two-time defending champion San Diego State enters the tournament ranked 52nd in the Golfstat rankings and will try to become just the second school in team history to win three straight Conference titles. New Mexico won four in a row from 2003-06.

New Mexico enters the MW Championship ranked No. 6 and is in search of its first Conference crown since 2006. UNLV is No. 35 according to Golfstat and is looking for its third overall championship and first since 2002.

Mountain West Men's Golf Leader Board
Follow Mountain West Men's Golf action with up-to-date team and individual scoreboards on the Conference website at TheMWC.com. To keep up with all of the action, go to the men's golf page and click on "Stats" on the upper left-hand side of the page.

Fans and Media Attending 2013 Championship
Fans and members of the media should be familiar with golf course etiquette. Admission is free, but media must coordinate interviews through the MW media relations contact. Photographers must request a credential from the MW office and should obtain the rules and regulations before proceeding on the course.

Championship Schedule: 54 holes - 18 each day
Tee Times: Thursday-Saturday - Beginning at 7 a.m. PT

First Round Pairings:

  • Group 1: New Mexico, UNLV, San Diego State,
  • Group 2: Colorado State, Fresno State, Air Force
  • Group 3: Nevada, Wyoming, Boise State

All groups begin on hole #1 with New Mexico, UNLV and San Diego State teeing off first. Colorado State, Fresno State and Air Force will tee off as the second group, followed by Nevada, Wyoming and Boise State. Teams will tee off in descending order from the 1st hole with No. 5 golfer going first from Team 3, followed by Team 2 and then team 1 on the opening 18 holes of the tournament.

Round 2 & 3 Groups: For round two and three, team groups shall be by result and all teams will begin on the first tee.

Live hole-by-hole scoring
The Mountain West will provide live hole-by-hole scoring at the men's golf championship. You can find the live stats link on the MW Golf Championship page at www.TheMWC.com. Click the men's golf championship link to track all of the action. You can also go directly to Golfstat.com to find the live stat link.

Championship Photos
View and purchase photos for the 2013 Mountain West Men's Golf Championship at www.themwc.com/champ/mwc-ncaa-photos.html.

MW Championship Records

  • Lowest Team Score
    • Single Round: 271, UNLV (2009 & 2010)
    • 1st Round: 272, BYU (2007)
    • 36 Holes: 556, TCU (2009)
    • 54 Holes: 834, Colorado State (2010)
  • Largest Winning Margin: 23, UNLV (2000)
  • Lowest Winning Margin: 0, TCU (2009) and New Mexico (2004)*
    • TCU defeated SDSU by one stroke in playoff.
    • UNM defeated BYU by one stroke in playoff.

  • Lowest Individual Scores:
    • Single Round: 64, Derek Ernst, UNLV (2011-2nd round)
      64, Eddie Olson, UNLV (2010-2nd round)
      64, Steve Saunders, UNM (2009)
      64, Martin Laird, CSU (2004)
    • First Round: 64, Martin Laird, CSU (2004)
    • 36 Holes: 133, Steve Saunders, UNM (2009)
    • 54 Holes: 204, Johan de Beer, TCU (2012)
      204, Steve Saunders, UNM (2009)
    • Largest Winning Margin: 4, Steve Saunders, UNM (2009)