Mountain West to Send Three Men's Golf Teams, Three Individuals to NCAA Regionals

May 7, 2013

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Three teams and three individuals will represent the Mountain West in the 2013 NCAA Men's Golf Regionals, as announced Monday by the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee. This marks the 13th consecutive season the MW has sent at least three teams to NCAA regionals.

New Mexico earned the MW's automatic berth after capturing the Conference championship this past week on the Catalina Course at OMNI Tucson National in Tucson, Ariz. The Lobos will be joined by UNLV and San Diego State.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 16-18. Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals, while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals. The finals will be conducted May 28-June 2, at The Capital City Club, Crabapple Course in Atlanta, Georgia. Georgia Institute of Technology is the host institution for this year's championships.

San Diego State, which is ranked No. 52 in the latest Golfweek standings, enters the Washington Regional as the No. 8 seed. Hosted by Washington State University, the regional will be played on the par 72, 7,308-yard course at the Palouse Ridge Golf Club. This is the 15th consecutive bid to the NCAA Regionals for the Aztecs, including every season under the direction of 10th-year head coach Ryan Donovan. San Diego State won the 2011 NCAA regional at OMNI Tucson National before finishing 16th at the NCAA National Championships in Stillwater, Okla.

No. 35 UNLV will be the No. 6 seed at the Ohio Regional, which will be played The Ohio State University Scarlet Golf Course (par 71, 7,286-yard course) in Columbus, Ohio. It's the Rebels' 25th straight appearance in an NCAA Regional. UNLV is attempting to advance to the championship finals for the first time since 2010.

New Mexico, currently ranked sixth by Golfweek, was selected as the No. 1 seed in the Ohio Regional and will be making its 23rd overall postseason appearance since the current NCAA format was put into place in 1989. This is also the 10th time in the 12 years under head coach Glen Millican that the Lobos have been selected to an NCAA Regional. The Ohio State University Scarlet Golf Course, a par 71, 7,286-yard course, in Columbus, Ohio, will host the event. New Mexico is looking to make a return to the NCAA championship finals for the first time since 2007.

Individually, Boise State's Taekoo Kim will participate in the Washington Regional, while Air Force's Kyle Westmoreland and Fresno State's Rufie Fessler will play in the Arizona Regional hosted by Arizona State on the par 70, 7,036-yard Karsten Golf Course. Kim is just the fifth Bronco selected to participate in the NCAA Regional Championships in school history, and the first since Troy Merritt in 2008. Westmoreland is the first Falcon to be selected for regional play since Tom Whitney in 2010, while Fessler will make the Bulldogs' first postseason appearance since Bhavik Patel in 2011.