Mountain West Announces 2011-12 Men's Golf Awards

May 10, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West announced its 2011-12 Men's Golf all-Conference team and individual awards today as selected by the eight head coaches.  San Diego State senior J.J. Spaun was selected as Mountain West Golfer of the Year, while Julien Brun of TCU was named MW Freshman of the Year.  MW Coach of the Year honors went to Ryan Donovan of San Diego State.

Spaun currently ranks 23rd in the Golfstat Cup rankings and 28th by Golfweek. He has captured three individual tournament titles and has finished in the top 10 in nine of 12 events this year. Spaun ranks third in the league with a 71.13 stroke average. He is the fourth San Diego State golfer to garner the award and first since Aaron Goldberg earned the honor in 2007-08. Lars Johansson was the first Aztec to be named MW Golfer of the Year in 2000-01 and John Lieber won the award in 2001-02.

Brun was selected as Mountain West Freshman of the Year after posting a league-best 70.67 stroke average in 2011-12. He is listed at No. 10 in both the Golfstat Cup rankings and by Golfweek. Brun is one of 10 semifinalists for The Ben Hogan Award, presented annually to the top college golfer. He has earned three individual titles this season and owns six top five finishes overall. Brun is the first TCU golfer to garner MW Freshman of the Year honors. The last Horned Frog to earn conference freshman of the year honors was Colby Beckstrom in 2002-03.

Donovan received Mountain West Coach of the Year honors for the second straight season after leading San Diego State to five team titles in 2011-12. The Aztecs captured the Mountain West Championship for the second consecutive year last week in Tucson. SDSU is just the second team in league history to win back-to-back MW titles. New Mexico won four in a row from 2003-2006.

The all-Conference team is made up of 10 individuals. TCU's Johan de Beer and UNLV's Derek Ernst have earned all-league honors four consecutive years. UNLV Ryan Moore is the only other Mountain West men's golfer in league history to garner all-Conference acclaim four straight years.

2011-12 MW Men's Golfer of the Year
J.J. Spaun, Sr., San Diego State

2011-12 MW Men's Golf Freshman of the Year
Julien Brun, TCU

2011-12 MW Men's Golf Coach of the Year
Ryan Donovan, San Diego State

2011-12 Men's Golf All-Mountain West Team
Zahkai Brown, Sr., Colorado State
John Catlin, Jr., New Mexico
James Erkenbeck, Jr., New Mexico
Victor Perez, Fr., New Mexico
Alex Kang, Sr., San Diego State
J.J. Spaun, Sr., San Diego State
Johan de Beer, Sr., TCU
Julien Brun, Fr., TCU
Derek Ernst, Sr., UNLV
Kevin Penner, Jr., UNLV