Fessler Heads to NCAA West Regional

May 15, 2013

By Elly Walker

FRESNO, Calif.-- In just days succeeding the Mountain West Championship on May 3-5, senior Rufie Fessler was selected as an individual participant for the 2013 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship which tees off on Thursday, May 16.

The Regional Championship tournament will be held on the par-70, 7,036-yard Karsten Golf Course on the Arizona State University campus.

"I've put a lot of work into my game in the last four to six months, so it is great to see it pay off," Fessler said.

The Bulldogs sat one seed from being selected to attend the NCAA West Regional as a team.

"It was a bummer we could not go as a team, but being picked as an individual was an honor," Fessler said. "Hopefully I can go to Arizona and represent the Bulldogs well."

This is Fresno State's first NCAA Division I Men's Golf appearance since 2011 when Bhavik Patel concluded his NCAA West Regional experience with a 34th place finish at five-over, 221.

Fessler, a Bakersfield, Calif. native, has consistently led the Bulldogs during the 2012-13 season and is ranked 11th among Mountain West competitors and holds a stroke 72.64 average.

The senior had his best performance of the season at the Bandon Dunes Championship on March 8-10 in Bandon Dunes, Ore. He carded a three-under, 213 (75-69-69) over the three-day tournament. Fessler's performance positioned him the top of the leaderboard to take second place out of the 95-player field.

Throughout the regular season Fessler recorded seven, top-25 finishes and two, top-10 finishes. Additionally, Fessler carded five rounds in the 60s, shot 74 or less in 23 rounds and made 115 birdies. At the Bulldogs' annual awards banquet Fessler was honored as the Bulldog's MVP.

"I think I have proven myself that I can go out there and compete with anyone when I am on top of my game," Fessler said. "I'm hoping to go to Arizona and try to win."

Fourteen teams and five individuals were chosen to compete in the ASU Regional. The teams in order of seeding are UCLA, Duke, Georgia, Texas A&M, Clemson, Vanderbilt, UCF, North Carolina, Arizona State, Kennesaw State, Arizona, Austin Peay State, New Mexico State, Lehigh.

The individuals who were selected were Glen Scher (UC Santa Barbara), Rufie Fessler (Fresno State), Cody Blick (San Jose State), Kyle Westmoreland (Air Force), and Tyler Torano (Loyola Marymount).

The finals will be hosted by Georgia Institute of Technology on May 28- June 2 at the Capital City Club in Atlanta, Georgia.