Men's Golfer J.J. Spaun Tabbed PING All-Region

May 30, 2012

PACIFIC PALISADES, Calif. - San Diego State men's golfer J.J. Spaun (San Dimas, Calif.) has been named to the Division I PING All-West Region team, the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced Wednesday evening. This is the second year in a row that the senior has been selected and he becomes the first Aztec to be tabbed twice since the honor began in 2008.

The 2012 Mountain West Conference Player of the Year, Spaun made national headlines earlier this season by winning three tournaments in consecutive starts. For his efforts, he was named the National Amateur of the Month by the Southern Golf Association, Mountain West Golfer of the Month and Golf World College Player of the Week. Spaun's five career medalist honors tie him for first in school history along with SDSU Hall of Famer Lennie Clements.

Spaun is also a three-time all-league honoree (2010-11-12) and boasts a national ranking of No. 18 and a World Amateur Golf rating of No. 13. He has a team-best 70.74 season stroke average leading into this week and has placed in the top 10 in nine of his 13 tournaments.

Spaun is currently playing his final collegiate event this week at the NCAA championships at Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif. He is currently in 37th place through 36 holes at 4-over 146 with the final round of stroke play slated for Thursday afternoon. Spaun tied for third at the same event a year ago en route to All-America accolades.

2011-12 PING All-West Region Team

J.J. Spaun, San Diego State
John Anderson, Pepperdine
Anton Arboleda, UCLA
Blake Biddle, UNLV
Zac Blair, BYU
Patrick Cantlay, UCLA
John Catlin, New Mexico
Alex Ching, San Diego
Mario Clemens, UCLA
James Erkenbeck, New Mexico
Derek Ernst, UNLV
Pedro Figueiredo, UCLA
Brandon Hagy, California
Max Homa, California
Jeffrey Kang, Southern California
Alex Kim, UCLA
Michael Kim, California
Steve Lim, Southern California
Daniel Miernicki, Oregon
Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington
Kevin Penner, UNLV
Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
Justin Shin, New Mexico State
Sam Smith, Southern California
Chris Williams, Washington
Cameron Wilson, Stanford
Eugene Wong, Oregon
Andrew Yun, Stanford