Brun Named to All-Nicklaus Team

June 21, 2012

FORT WORTH—The Golf Coaches Association of America has named TCU freshman Julien Brun as one of 24 individuals to its annual All-Nicklaus Team in recognition of his outstanding play during the 2011-12 collegiate season. Players from NCAA Division I, II and III along with NAIA and NJCAA made up the squad.

Brun became the first TCU golfer ever selected to the All-Nicklaus Team. Also a PING First-Team All-American, he broke nearly every individual TCU season record this past season, including stroke average (70.51), victories (three), top-5 finishes (eight) and top-20 finishes (12). In addition to being named Mountain West Freshman of the Year, he also was one of 10 semifinalists for the prestigious Ben Hogan Award presented to the nation’s top college golfer. Brun capped his freshman season by tying for second place at the NCAA Championship two weeks ago at The Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif.

The All-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008, and is not only named for history’s greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Jack Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at Ohio State, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Awards in 1988. The Nicklaus Award is annually given to the top collegiate men’s golfer in Divisions I, II, III, the NAIA and the NJCAA.

Nathan Anderson, Texas Wesleyan
Jake Argento, South Mountain CC
Blayne Barber, Auburn
Trevor Blair, CSU-Stanislaus
Julien Brun, TCU
Clark Collier, Oklahoma City
Josh Creel, Central Oklahoma
Dylan Frittelli, Texas
Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga
Jimmy Kozikowski, South Mountain CC
Anthony Maccaglia, Oglethorpe
Noah Ratner, Guilford
Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
Carlos Rodriguez, West Florida
Joe Sakulpolphaisan, Darton College
Kyle Souza, Chico State
Jordan Spieth, Texas
Jake Sterling, Meridian CC
Ben Taylor, Nova Southeastern
Justin Thomas, Alabama
Aaron Watkins, Cumberlands
Chris Williams, Washington
Eugene Wong, Oregon
Derek Zachman, La Verne