UNM Wins 46th Annual HEB Invitational

March 3, 2012


CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS—The Lobos blow the University of Louisiana-Lafayette out of the water defeating them with a score of 4-1. The Lobos take home the gold being named the champions of the 46th annual HEB Invitational.

At number one doubles, Conor Berg and Ben Dunbar took on Farine/Mandl defeating them with a score of 8-3.

Jadon Phillips and Matthew Neeld played against DeGroot/Murray at number two doubles winning in a close set with a score of 9-8.

At number three doubles, Carl Ho and James Hignett fell to Farinola/Wynan with a score of 8-4.

The Lobos quickly gained momentum by putting the first point up on the board by winning doubles. The momentum stayed in favor of UNM in singles leading the Lobos to clinch the championship.

At number two singles, Ben Dunbar defeated Carlin Murray with a score of 6-4, 6-4.

At number three singles, Conor Berg improved his record to 12-1 defeating Ted Nilsson in a close three set match. The final score was UNM 6-4, 2-6, 6-0.

Carl Ho played at the number five spot having a tough first set but finishing off fairly quickly against Damian Farinola. The final score was UNM 6-4, 6-2.

Mitch McDaniels played at the number six position falling to Jarred Wynan in a three set match. The final score was 5-7, 6-1, 6-0.

The Lobos are now 10-4 overall in the spring season. The next match for UNM will be played at home against Pacific at 5 p.m. on March 8, 2012.