Rebel Quartet Moves On

Nov. 2, 2012

LAS VEGAS ( - Four players from host UNLV won both of their singles matches Friday to advance to the semifinals of the Larry Easley Memorial Classic, which is being played this weekend at the Fertitta Tennis Complex.

Tamas Batyi, seeded fourth here, swept Alan Barrios of NAU 6-3, 6-3 in the morning and then came back to defeat Chris Haworth of Oklahoma State 6-2, 6-7, 6-2. Joining him in the next round of the top flight is Ace Matias, who downed Matt Dunn of Arizona 6-2, 6-2 before finishing off Arturs Kazijevs of SMU, 6-3, 6-2. Less than two weeks ago, Kazijevs upset the nation's No. 7 player from Baylor at an ITA Regional.

In Flight Two, Bernard Schoeman defeated Ben Lee of Arizona 6-2, 6-1 and then swept Sarp Laleli of NAU 6-3, 6-3 to advance. Also, Johannes Markel downed Carlos Bermudez of Arizona 6-1, 6-3 before fighting off Jovan Parlic of Arkansas 6-2, 4-6, 7-6.

UNLV also has two doubles teams still alive in the main draw as Batyi and Markel downed Bermudez and Ben Lee of Arizona 8-5 and the duo of Schoeman and Matias enjoyed a bye on the opening day.

"Overall as a team we had a really good day," said UNLV head coach Owen Hambrook. "All of the hard work these guys have been put in this fall is showing up in matches and we are looking forward to another great day of tennis tomorrow."

Players from six other programs are competing in the individual event: Arkansas, Arizona, Oklahoma State, SMU, NAU and Seminole State College located in Seminole, Okla.

The annual tournament was renamed in 2010 in honor of UNLV Hall of Famer Larry Easley, who passed away from illness in 2005 at the age of 57. Easley coached the UNLV men's tennis team longer than anyone in history and produced sometimes-spectacular results over his dozen seasons from 1993-2002, including producing five All-Americans and two NCAA individual champions.

At Fertitta Tennis Complex, Las Vegas
Friday, Nov. 2

FLIGHT ONE First Round Singles Rifat Biktyakov (OSU) BYE Tendai Tapfuma (SSC) def. Gregoire Lehmann (ARK) 6-2, 2-6, 6-4 Ace Matias (UNLV) def. Matt Dunn (AZ) 6-2, 6-2 Arturs Kazijevs (SMU) def. Richard Del Nunzio (OSU) 6-3, 6-2 Tamas Batyi (UNLV) def. Alan Barrios (NAU) 6-3, 6-3 Chris Haworth (OSU) def. Dominic Bermudez (NAU) 1-6, 7-6, 6-2 Kieren Thompson (AZ) def. Manfred Jeske (ARK) 6-3, 3-6, 7-5 Gaston Cuadranti (SMU) BYE

FLIGHT ONE Quarterfinal Singles Rifat Biktyakov (OSU) def. Tendai Tapfuma (SSC) 6-2, 6-2 Ace Matias (UNLV) def. Arturs Kazijevs (SMU) 7-6 (4), 6-3 Tamas Batyi (UNLV) def. Chris Haworth (OSU) 6-2, 6-7 (2), 6-2 Kieren Thompson (AZ) def. Gaston Cuadranti (SMU) 7-5, 6-4

FLIGHT ONE Consolation Singles Matt Dunn (AZ) def. Dominic Bermudez (NAU) 6-3, 6-3 Richard Del Nunzio (OSU) def. Alan Barrios (NAU) 6-4, 6-1

FLIGHT TWO First Round Singles Mischa Nowicki (SMU) BYE Johannes Myburgh (SSC) def. Willie Sublette (UNLV) 6-4, 6-4 Bernard Schoeman (UNLV) def. Ben Lee (AZ) 6-2, 6-1 Sarp Laleli (NAU) BYE Jovan Parlic (ARK) def. Josh Levinson (NAU) 6-2, 6-0 Johannes Markel (UNLV) def. Carlos Bermudez (AZ) 6-1, 6-3 Nate Lammons (SMU) def. Cody Miller (UNLV) 6-3, 6-1 Trevor Horstmann (OSU) BYE

FLIGHT TWO Quarterfinal Singles Mischa Nowicki (SMU) def. Johannes Myburgh (SSC) 6-2, 6-2 Bernard Schoeman (UNLV) def. Sarp Laleli (NAU) 6-3, 6-3 Johannes Markel (UNLV) def. Jovan Parlic (ARK) 6-2, 4-6, 7-6 (2) Nate Lammons (SMU) def. Trevor Horstmann (OSU) 7-6 (2), 6-4

FLIGHT TWO Consolation Singles Carlos Bermudez (AZ) def. Josh Levinson (NAU) 6-3, 6-1

FLIGHT ONE First Round Doubles Kazijevs/Nowicki (SMU) BYE Haworth/Horstmann (OSU) def. Sublette/Miller (UNLV) 8-3 Thompson/Dunn (AZ) def. Bermudez/Barrios (NAU) 9-8 (2) Schoeman/Matias (UNLV BYE Markel/Batyi (UNLV) def. Bermudez/Lee (AZ) 8-5 Cuadranti/Lammons (SMU) def. Tapfuma/Myburgh (SSC) 8-2 Jeske/Parlic (ARK) def. Laleli/Levinson (NAU) 8-1 Biktyakov/Del Nunzio (OSU) BYE