Mountain West Announces 2011-12 Men's Tennis All-Conference Awards

April 26, 2012

The Mountain West announced its 2011-12 All-Conference team and individual awards for men's tennis this evening, as selected by the league's six head coaches.

San Diego State senior Javier Pulgar was named Player of the Year after a stellar senior campaign. The native of Madrid, Spain, posted a 15-12 record this season, including a 3-2 mark in Conference matches at the Aztecs' No. 1 singles position. Pulgar is currently No. 117 in the latest ITA rankings.

TCU's Nick Chappell earned MW Freshman of the Year honors after netting a 20-10 overall record this season, including a 4-1 mark in Conference action at the Horned Frogs' No. 1 singles position. The product of Indianapolis, Ind., is ranked No. 125 in the latest ITA standings.

2011-12 Men's Tennis All-Mountain West Team
Singles Doubles
Lance Wilhelm, Jr., Air Force Lance Wilhelm/Grant Taylor, Air Force
Andy Bettles, So., Boise State Damian Hume/Scott Sears, Boise State
Damian Hume, Sr., Boise State James Meredith/Nathan Sereke, Boise State
James Meredith, RS Jr., Boise State **Phil Anderson/Jadon Phillips, New Mexico
**Ben Dunbar, Sr., New Mexico *Conor Berg/Ben Dunbar, New Mexico
**Jadon Phillips, Jr., New Mexico Thorsten Bertsch/Derek Siddiqui, San Diego State
Thorsten Bertsch, Fr., San Diego State  
*Javier Pulgar, Sr., San Diego State  
Derek Siddiqui, Jr., San Diego State  
Nick Chappell, Fr., TCU  
Facundo Lugones, Fr., TCU  
Rene Ruegamer, Sr., UNLV  
Player of the Year: Javier Pulgar, San Diego State
Freshman of the Year: Nick Chappell, TCU
*notes two-time selection, **notes three-time selection

Full coverage of the 2012 Mountain West Tennis Championships can be found online. Visit Championship Central for live scores, updated brackets, photos, videos and more. You can also follow the MW on its social media channels:

Mountain West on Twitter @TheMWC | @TheMWCOlySports | @MW_MHoops | @MW_WHoops | @MWCMick

Mountain West on Facebook | Mountain West on YouTube