Mountain West Announces 2013 Reese's Women's Basketball Championship Bracket

March 9, 2013

2013 Reese's MW Basketball Championships
Related Links
  • 2013 Reese's MW Basketball Championship Central


  • MW Men's Basketball Home page

  • MW Women's Basketball Home page

    Subscribe to me on YouTube

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - San Diego State (24-5, 15-1) won the 2012-13 Mountain West regular-season title and enters the Reese's MW Women's Basketball Championship as the No. 1 seed. The MW Championship will be held at the Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas on March 12, 14-16.

Fresno State (21-8) finished second in the regular-season standings with a 13-3 Conference record and will be the No. 2 seed, while Wyoming (23-6, 12-4) will be the No. 3 seed. New Mexico (16-13) and UNLV (12-18) tied for fourth place with identical 8-8 records. According to the tie-breaking procedures, the Lady Rebels will be the fourth seed in the tournament after sweeping UNM in the regular season. The Lobos will be the fifth seed. Colorado State (11-18, 7-9) finished sixth in the standings, while Boise State (11-18, 4-12) finished seventh, Air Force (4-25, 3-13) ended up eighth and Nevada (7-22, 2-14) ninth.

Air Force and Nevada will get the tournament started on Tuesday, March 12 at 7:30 p.m. PT with the No. 8 vs. No. 9 game for the opportunity to play No. 1 seed San Diego State in the quarterfinals. It will be the first meeting between the Falcons and newcomer Wolf Pack in the MW Tournament. Nevada leads the all-time series, 4-3, with a split this season between the two teams. The Falcons are 2-13 all-time in the MW Tournament.

Thursday's quarterfinal games begin with No. 1 San Diego State against the winner of Tuesday night's 8/9 match-up at 12 p.m. PT. If Nevada advances, it will be the first meeting between the two programs in the MW Tournament. SDSU leads the all-time series against the Wolf Pack, 5-3, including a two-game sweep during the 2012-13 season. If Air Force advances, it will be just the second meeting between the institutions in MW Tournament play. SDSU leads the all-time series, 27-6, including a two-game sweep this year. The Aztecs are 9-11 in the MW Championship, winning the tournament title in 2010 and 2012.

No. 4 seed UNLV meets No. 5 New Mexico at 2:30 p.m. PT on Thursday. This will be the sixth meeting between the two teams in the MW Tournament with the Lobos holding a 3-2 advantage. After sweeping the two regular-season games, the Lady Rebels lead the all-time series, 28-19. UNLV is 8-13 in the MW Championship. The Lobos are 24-8 with five tournament titles in MW Tournament history.

The evening session of quarterfinals begins with No. 2 Fresno State against No. 7 Boise State at 6 p.m. PT. This will be the first meeting in MW Tournament action for the recent newcomers to the league. Fresno State took the regular season series, 2-0, and owns the overall series between the two institutions, 19-9. The Broncos are 0-1 in MW Championship play.

No. 3 Wyoming will face No. 6 Colorado State in the nightcap at 8:30 p.m. PT, the second meeting between the two teams in eight days. The Cowgirls earned the two-game sweep in the regular season series, gaining a 43-41 edge in the overall series with the Rams. Wyoming is 4-13 in MW Championship play, while CSU is 10-12, winning the 2001 title.

MW Championship Notes

  • The MW Championship has produced five different champions in 13 years. New Mexico is the only institution to win three consecutive championships (2003-2005) and five overall (2007, 2008). San Diego State (2010, 2012) earned its second title last season and Colorado State won the crown in 2001.

  • The No. 1 seed has won the tournament title only five times in 13 years. San Diego State got through unscathed in 2012 as the No. 1 seed for its second title. New Mexico won the title as the No. 1 seed in 2004 and 2005, while Utah won the championship in 2000 and 2009 as the top seed.

  • New Mexico is 5-1 when reaching the title game, while San Diego State is 2-2 in the tournament finale. The Aztecs and Lobos are 1-1 in championship game match-ups.

  • Four current MW teams have reached the title game. New Mexico has advanced to the title game six times, while San Diego State has four appearances. Colorado State and UNLV have each been in the championship game once.

Tuesday, March 12 TV
7:30 p.m. First Round No. 8 Air Force vs. No. 9 Nevada Mountain West Network
Thursday, March 14 TV
12 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #1 No. 1 San Diego State vs. Winner of 8 vs. 9 Mountain West Network
2:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #2 No. 4 UNLV vs. No. 5 New Mexico Mountain West Network
6 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #3 No. 2 Fresno State vs. No. 7 Boise State Mountain West Network
8:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #4 No. 3 Wyoming vs. No. 6 Colorado State Mountain West Network
Friday, March 15 TV
12 p.m. Semifinal Game #1 Winner of QF #1 vs. Winner of QF #2 Mountain West Network
2:30 p.m. Semifinal Game #2 Winner of QF #3 vs. Winner of QF #4 Mountain West Network
Saturday, March 16 TV
7 p.m. Championship Game CBS Sports Network
All games are Pacific Time.

All session and single session tickets for the Reese's Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Championship are now on sale at the Thomas & Mack Center box office, online and at institutional box offices. Tickets are also available by going to

All eight Mountain West Women's Basketball Championship games will be broadcast. The first round, quarterfinals and semifinals will be streamed live on the Mountain West Network ( The championship game will be aired live on CBS Sports Network, beginning at 7 p.m. PT.