SDSU's Beth Burns Tabbed WBCA Region 7 Coach of the Year

March 27, 2013

ATLANTA - San Diego State women's basketball head coach Beth Burns was named the Russell Athletic/WBCA Region 7 Coach of the Year, as announced Wednesday by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA). With her award, Burns is among eight finalists for the WBCA National Coach of the Year, which will be revealed on Monday, April 8 in New Orleans, La.

Burns, who garnered her third Mountain West Coach of the Year accolade earlier this month, guided the Aztecs (27-7, 15-1 MW) to their second consecutive regular-season conference title and their fourth postseason appearance in the last five years with a berth in the Women's National Invitation Tournament (WNIT).

SDSU's 27 victories marked the highest single-season total in program history and featured a 17-game winning streak, during which the Scarlet and Black outscored its opponents by an average margin of 21.3 points.

Under Burns' tutelage, senior Chelsea Hopkins became the second Aztec in a row to collect MW Player of the Year honors, joining classmate Courtney Clements, who accomplished the feat in 2012. In addition, Hopkins and Clements were both first-team all-MW selections this year, while sophomore Erimma Amarikwa (third team), senior Malia Nahinu (honorable mention) and senior Gabrielle Clark (all-defensive) received all-conference recognition as well.

Burns, who just completed the eighth year of her second stint and 16th overall at SDSU, is the winningest coach in Aztec women's basketball history, boasting a 295-186 record. Since returning to The Mesa in 2005, she has led SDSU to a trip to the NCAA Sweet Sixteen (2010), three NCAA tournament appearances (2009, 2010, 2012), three MW regular-season titles (2009, 2012, 2013) and two MW tournament crowns (2010, 2012).

2013 WBCA Regional Coaches of the Year
• Region 1 - Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame
• Region 2 - Brenda Frese, Maryland
• Region 3 - Holly Warlick, Tennessee
• Region 4 - Tricia Cullop, Toledo
• Region 5 - Kim Mulkey, Baylor
• Region 6 - Coquese Washington, Penn State
• Region 7 - Beth Burns, San Diego State
• Region 8 - Tara VanDerveer, Stanford