Rebels In Fourth After Second Round

April 21, 2012

LITCHFIELD PARK, Ariz. ( – The UNLV women’s golf team will enter final round of the 2012 Mountain West Championship Tournament tied for fourth after carding a second round 306 at the par-72 Wigwam Resort Gold Course.

Defending champion TCU remains in first at +27 and increased its lead over second-place San Diego State to five strokes. The Aztecs (+31) hold a nine-shot lead over third place Colorado State and are 10 in front of UNLV and New Mexico who are tied for fourth at +41.

Wyoming sits in sixth at +45 while Boise State rounds out the field in seventh at +48.

Sanna Nuutinen (TCU) holds a three-shot lead entering the final round, standing at -1-under par. Christine Won (San Diego State) is in second at 2-over while Manon De Roey (New Mexico) and Malin Enarsson (San Diego State) tied for third at 3-over. Christina Spinzig (Colorado State) rounds out the top five in fifth at 4-over par.

Freshman Dana Finkelstein continues to pace the UNLV lineup. A day after garnering Mountain West Co-Freshmen of the Year honors, Finkelstein fired a round of 1-over 73. The Chandler, Ariz. native carded three birdies and was even on the back nine to climb two spots up the leaderboard to a tie for sixth entering the final round.

Fellow Co-Freshman of the Year Mayko Chwen Wang will enter Sunday’s round in 15th place following a second-round 5-over 77. Wang suffered a pair of double bogies, but made birdie on the par-4 15th to turn in a back nine 38.

Senior Bethany Calvo is one shot behind Wang after a second round 78. Calvo opened up the front nine with eight consecutive pars before dropping a stroke on the par-4 9th and par-5 10th. Birdies at the 11th and 12th holes got her back to even before a quadruple bogey on 13 and bogies on 16 and 18 moved her to 6-over for the day.

Charlotte Brooks moved up four spots after a six-stroke improvement from her opening round 84. The sophomore transfer is tied for 28th with teammate Katerina Prorokova at +18 overall heading into the final round.

The Rebels will start final round action at 7:50 a.m. tomorrow and be paired with New Mexico.