CSU's Roering paces field after Day 1 of MW Championship

April 25, 2013

Round 1 Results Get Acrobat Reader

RANCHO MIRAGE, Calif. – Colorado State junior golfer Emily Roering sits alone atop the leader board, and Colorado State is tied for fifth and in the hunt after Day 1 of the 2013 Mountain West Women’s Golf Championship at the Dinah Shore Tournament Course at the Mission Hills Country Club.

Roering, who hails from Glenwood, Minn., posted a Round 1 score of 73 (+1) to sit one stroke ahead of Fresno State’s Shaylee Yano and San Diego State’s Emma Henrikson, who are tied for second in the 40-player field.

Head Coach Susan Jennings was pleased with Roering’s opening round, but noted that she will need to concentrate to on the process to maintain her position in the talented field.

“Emily is off to a great start,” said Jennings. “But she will have to not focus on where she is, but just take it one stroke at a time, one hole at a time. We try to put an emphasis on taking things one shot at a time.” 

Thanks to Roering’s hot start, the Rams posted an opening-round team score of 316 (+28) to match conference newcomer Nevada in a tie for fifth place.

“We’re right in the middle of the pack, and just four strokes out of third, so if we can just focus, we’ll be right in the hunt,” added Jennings. 

Fresno State (306) sits in first place, followed by Boise State (310), San Diego State (312) and UNLV (314) to round out the top four. 

Junior Betsy Kelly fired an 80 (+8) to sit in a tie for 19th, one stroke ahead of sophomore Jessa LaBarbera who is tied for 23rd heading into Friday’s second round.

Redshirt freshman Mikayla Tatman closed out the scoring for the Rams in Round 1, carding a 10-over 82 to sit in 26th place, one stroke ahead of junior Christina Spinzig.

Rouund 2 of the MW Championship tournament begins tomorrow with tee times beginning at 8:30 a.m. MT. Live, hole-by-hole scoring is available at www.GolfStat.com.

T5 Colorado State 316
1 Emily Roering 73
T19 Betsy Kelly 80
T23 Jessa LaBarbera 81
26 Mikayla Tatman 82
T27 Christine Spinzig 83