Rebels Set For Mountain West Championship

April 24, 2013

RANCHO MIRAGE, Calif. ( – The UNLV women’s golf team will travel to California for the 2013 Mountain West Championship starting on Thursday morning. 

The 54-hole tournament will be played at the par-72, 6,324 yard Dinah Shore Tournament Course at the Mission Hills Country Club with live scoring available via Golf Stat.

The Rebels enter the conference championship leading the MW in with a team stroke per round average of 303.15, 1.7 strokes per round ahead of Nevada, Reno. UNLV posted three top-10 finishes in four spring tournaments, including two top five finishes. 

Dana Finkelstein leads the Rebels, but also leads the conference averaging 74.35 strokes per round. She is .27 strokes per round ahead of New Mexico’s Sammi Stevens and .78 strokes per round ahead of Boise State’s Hayley Young. Finkelstein recorded her career-best finish at the Cal Classic with a tie for second.

Junior Demi Mak ranks 14th in the conference averaging 76.81 strokes per round in her first year with UNLV. She turned in a top-15 finish at the Betsy Rawls Invitational in the fall.

Sophomore Mayko Chwen Wang ranks 15th in the conference .04 strokes per round behind Mak. Wang tied for 10th at the season opening Colonel Bill Wollenberg’s Ptarmigan Ram Classic and turned in the lowest single round score in the conference, which was a 68 at the Branch Law Firm/Dick McGuire Invitational.

Sophomore Marguerite Swearingen will participate in her first MW Championship after playing all 26 rounds this season. Her best performance came at the Colonel Bill Wollenberg’s Ptarmigan Ram Classic where she tied for 16th.

Junior Katerina Prorokova rounds out the Rebels lineup and will play in her second consecutive MW Championship. She has only played in nine rounds this season, but has played in the last two tournaments for the Rebels.

First round action will begin at 7:30 a.m. on Thursday. UNLV is paired with Boise State and Fresno State for the first round. Prorokova will tee off at 9:10 a.m. followed by Swearingen, Wang, Mak and Finkelstein.