Dana Finkelstein Named MW Golfer Of The Year

April 27, 2013

RANCHO MIRAGE, Calif. - UNLV sophomore Dana Finkelstein was selected as MW Golfer of the Year and UNLV head coach Amy Bush was selected as the Coach of the Year as the Mountain West announced its 2012-13 Women's Golf All-Conference team and individual awards at the conclusion of its championship today at the Dinah Shore Tournament Course at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, Calif. Emma Henrikson of San Diego State was also named Freshman of the Year.

“Dana has had such an outstanding year,” Bush said. “Each day she is striving for her best. For UNLV to have the representation of winning Player of the Year as a sophomore is huge. I am very proud of her and am excited for her future with the program.”

Finkelstein entered this week's Conference Championship ranked 57th by Golfstat and 75th according to the GolfWeek/Sagarin rankings. She currently leads the Conference in scoring average at 74.35 strokes per round. The sophomore from Chandler, Ariz., has recorded two top-five finishes and three top 10 finishes this season. She becomes the fifth student-athlete from UNLV to be named MW Golfer of the Year, joining former Rebels Sunny Oh (2003-04), Elena Kurokawa (2004-05), Da Sol Chung (2005-06) and Therese Koelbaek (2010-11).

“I am really happy and honored to be named Golfer of the Year,” Finkelstein said. “I worked really hard and was pretty steady all season. It is even more of an honor to earn the award as a sophomore. There is great competition in the Mountain West and I’m just happy to be playing good golf.”

In her third season at the helm of the Rebels, Bush led UNLV to its first MW Championship since 2006 and fourth overall, marking her first career victory as head coach. UNLV recorded five top five and eight top 10 finishes this season. Bush receives the Coach of the Year honor for the first time in her career.

Finkelstein is joined by three Rebels named to an All-Mountain West team. Finkelstein earned first team honors while Charlotte Brooks, Demi Mak and Mayko Chwen Wang were named to the second team. The full list is below.

2012-13 Women's Golf All-Mountain West First Team
Manon DeRoey, New Mexico
Sammi Stevens, New Mexico
Emma Henrikson, San Diego State
Paige Spiranac, San Diego State
Dana Finkelstein, UNLV

2012-13 Women's Golf All-Mountain West Second Team
Hayley Young, Boise State
Madchen Ly, Fresno State
Christine Wong, San Diego State
Charlotte Brooks, UNLV
Demi Mak, UNLV
Mayko Chwen Wang, UNLV

2012-13 Mountain West Women's Golfer of the Year
Dana Finkelstein, UNLV

2012-13 Mountain West Women's Golf Freshman of the Year
Emma Henrikson, San Diego State

2012-13 Mountain West Women's Golf Coach of the Year
Amy Bush, UNLV