Four Aztecs Named to Minnesota Gold Classic All-Tournament Team

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - The No. 20/21/T-24 San Diego State women's soccer team were named champions of the Minnesota Gold Classic after going 2-0 with victories against Minnesota and Iowa State. Rachel Boaz was named defensive MVP of the tournament, while Megan Jurado earned co-offensive honors as they were named to the all-tournament team along with Haley Palmer and Hannah Keane.

Boaz continued her stellar play in goal for the Aztecs this weekend, as she tallied a season-high six saves en route to notching her sixth consecutive shutout against the Gophers. The redshirt sophomore then extended that streak through 42:21 of Sunday's contest with the Cylcones. Boaz has played all 645:16 in 2012 and is 7-0 with 20 saves on the season.

For the weekend, Jurado tallied four shots including two on goal and notched both game-winners against Minnesota and ISU. On the season, the senior leads SDSU with four goals and has also tallied an assist for a team-high 13 points.

Palmer has been a key part of the Aztec defense this season and this held true against the Gophers and Cyclones. The junior played all 191 minutes on the weekend and tallied a shot in each contest. In 2012, Palmer has started all seven games and she has played 600 of the possible 645 minutes.

Rounding out the all-tournament team honorees is Keane who was very instrumental to SDSU's offensive success. Against Minnesota, the sophomore tallied four shots including one on goal. Then vs. Iowa State, Keane was an even bigger factor as she tallied a goal and an assist along with five shots, including three on goal.

The Aztecs return to action on Friday when they travel to the Santa Clara Tournament. SDSU will play No. 5/5/4 Stanford on Friday, Sept. 14 and then face off with No. -/19/- Santa Clara on Sunday, Sept. 16. Both contests will be held at Buck Shaw Stadium in Santa Clara, Calif.

2012 Minnesota Gold Classic All-Tournament Team
Megan Jurado - MF, San Diego State*
Rachel Boaz - GK, San Diego State**
Haley Palmer - D, San Diego State
Hannah Keane - F, San Diego State
Tamara Strahota - D, Minnesota
Olivia Bagnall - MF, Minnesota
Taylor Uhl - F, Minnesota*
Megan Longobardi - MF, Iowa State
Jessie Stewart - D, Iowa State
Kylie Nordness - D, DePaul
Kelly Blumberg - MF, DePaul

* denotes Co-Offensive MVPs
** denotes Defensive MVP