Mountain West Announces 2012 Women's Soccer All-Conference Awards

Oct. 30, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West announced its 2012 women's soccer awards today. The league's eight head coaches selected the all-Conference first and second teams, Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year.

San Diego State senior forward/midfielder Megan Jurado garnered MW Offensive Player of the Year honors, while Aztec junior defender Haley Palmer earned Defensive Player of the Year accolades and Boise State midfielder Brooke Heidemann was tabbed Freshman of the Year. San Diego State head coach Mike Friesen was voted MW Coach of the Year by his peers for the second time in his career after guiding the Aztecs to a perfect 7-0 record in Conference play and their second MW regular-season crown.

Jurado was tabbed as the MW Offensive Player of the Year after helping the Aztecs to the No. 1 seed in the upcoming 2012 MW Women's Soccer Championship. She led the league in points (13) and goals (five), while tying for first in assists (three) through seven regular-season Conference games. Palmer earned Mountain West Defensive Player of the Year honors after helping SDSU record four shutouts in MW play. The Aztec defense surrendered just three goals to Conference opponents in 2012, posting a 0.43 goals-against average. Heidemann was named MW Freshman of the Year after tallying four points on two goals for the Broncos during league play.

Five student-athletes are repeat selections to the all-Conference list this season, led by three-time honoree Palmer, who makes her second straight appearance on the first team after earning second-team kudos in 2010. Fellow Aztecs Jurado and Tiffany Hurst garnered first-team honors for the second consecutive season, while UNLV teammates Caitlin Allen and Macy Jo Harrison moved up to the first team after receiving second-team accolades in 2011.

Name Cl. Pos. Team
Brooke Heidemann Fr. MF Boise State
Callie Hancock Sr. F Fresno State
Rachel Montoya Sr. MF New Mexico
Tiffany Hurst Sr. D/MF San Diego State
Carli Johnson Jr. MF San Diego State
Megan Jurado Sr. F/MF San Diego State
Hannah Keane So. F San Diego State
Haley Palmer Jr. D San Diego State
Caitlin Allen Sr. D UNLV
Courtney Botelho Jr. MF UNLV
Macy Jo Harrison Sr. MF UNLV
Jenn Wolfe Jr. F UNLV
*Due to a tie in the voting, 12 players were selected to the first team.
Name Cl. Pos. Team
Felicia Sturgeon So. MF Air Force
Lauren Hickok Sr. MF Boise State
Katy Oehring Jr. MF Boise State
Mandy Nader Sr. D Boise State
Shannon Schueren So. MF Boise State
Vanessa Gonzalez Sr. MF/F Fresno State
Chrisalyn Fonte So. MF Nevada
Sinead Fleming Sr. D New Mexico
Rachael McGlinchy Sr. D San Diego State
Kylie Wassell Jr. GK UNLV
MW Offensive Player of the Year:
Megan Jurado, Sr., F/MF, San Diego State
MW Defensive Player of the Year:
Haley Palmer Jr., D, San Diego State
MW Freshman of the Year:
Brooke Heidemann, MF, Boise State
MW Coach of the Year:
Mike Friesen, San Diego State

Full coverage of the 2012 Mountain West Women's Soccer Championship can be found online. Visit Championship Central for live stats, an updated bracket, recaps, photos, videos and more. You can also follow the MW on its social media channels:

Mountain West on Twitter @TheMWC | @TheMWCOlySports | @MW_MHoops | @MW_WHoops

Mountain West on Facebook | Mountain West on YouTube