San Diego State Picked to Win 2013 Mountain West Softball Title

Feb. 5, 2013

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - A voting panel of the seven Mountain West head softball coaches predicts that reigning league champion San Diego State will successfully defend its crown and win the 2013 MW regular-season title. The Aztecs collected five first-place votes and 35 total points. Colorado State finished second in the voting with 28 points and one first-place vote, while MW newcomer Fresno State was picked third, totaling 26 points. Boise State received 23 points and the remaining first-place vote for fourth place in the poll, while New Mexico (15 points), UNLV (12 points) and Nevada (eight points) rounded out the poll in fifth, sixth and seventh places, respectively.

San Diego State is coming off a 2012 campaign in which the Aztecs posted a 32-24 record (9-3 MW) en route to capturing their fifth MW regular-season crown and earning a trip to the NCAA Tournament for a school-record fifth consecutive year. Head coach Kathy Van Wyk returns 10 letterwinners, including six starters in 2013. Heading up the list of returnees are a trio of All-MW selections in junior shortstop Hayley Miles, the 2012 MW Co-Player of the Year, junior outfielder Patrice Jackson and sophomore outfielder Kayla Jordan, the 2012 MW Freshman of the Year.

Colorado State finished the 2012 season with a 29-22 record, tying for second place in MW play with an 8-4 mark. The Rams, under head coach Jennifer Fisher, return nine starters among 14 letterwinners. Highlighting this year's roster are senior Kacie McCarthy, the 2012 MW Pitcher of the Year, and fellow all-Conference performers Chelsea Biglow (Jr., 3B), Ashlie Ortega (Jr., SS) and Emily Pohl (Jr., C).

Under the direction of head coach Trisha Ford, Fresno State makes its Mountain West debut after registering a 36-23 record in 2012. Headlining the Bulldogs' returning cast of six starters and 13 letterwinners is all-Conference selection Vonnie Martin (Jr., 3B).

Boise State enters the 2013 season under head coach Erin Thorpe after posting a 34-20 mark last season, tying for second place in MW action with an 8-4 record. Heading up a Bronco roster that includes five returning starters and 10 letterwinners are 2012 MW Co-Player of the Year Tara Glover (Jr., CF) and fellow All-MW honoree Devon Bridges (Jr., RF).

The Mountain West will begin its 14th season of softball competition on Thursday, February 7, with New Mexico and San Diego State competing in the Kajikawa Classic in Tempe, Ariz., and Colorado State kicking off action at the Red Desert Classic in St. George, Utah. Conference play commences on Thursday, March 28, with UNLV at Colorado State, Nevada at Fresno State and New Mexico at San Diego State.

2013 Mountain West Softball Preseason Poll
Rk. Team (first-place votes) Points
1. San Diego State (5) 35
2. Colorado State (1) 28
3. Fresno State 26
4. Boise State (1) 23
5. New Mexico 15
6. UNLV 12
7. Nevada 8