San Diego State Picked to Win 2012 Mountain West Softball Title

Feb. 7, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - A voting panel of the five Mountain West head softball coaches chose San Diego State as the favorite to win the 2012 MW regular-season title. The Aztecs collected four first-place votes and 16 total points. UNLV was a close second with 13 points and one first-place vote, while MW newcomer Boise State was picked third, totaling nine points. New Mexico received eight points for fourth place in the poll, while Colorado State rounded out the preseason rankings with four points.

San Diego State is coming off a 2011 campaign in which the Aztecs posted a 34-21 record (8-5 MW), winning 20 of their last 27 games and earning a trip to the NCAA Tournament for a school-record fourth consecutive year. Head coach Kathy Van Wyk returns 10 letterwinners, including five starters in 2012. Heading up the list of returnees are a pair of All-MW selections in senior pitcher Bailey Micetich and sophomore outfielder Hayley Miles, the 2011 MW Freshman of the Year.

UNLV finished the 2011 season with a 27-18 record (9-5 MW). The Rebels, under head coach Pete Manarino, return eight starters among 17 letterwinners, including all-Conference selections Tayler Aleman (Jr., SS), Paige Emerson (Sr., OF) and Tayler Van Acker (So., 1B).

Under the direction of head coach Erin Thorpe, Boise State makes its Mountain West debut after registering a 33-20 record (15-6 WAC) in 2011. Five all-Conference performers headline the Broncos' returning cast of nine starters and 13 letterwinners: Devon Bridges (So., RF), Christina Capobianco (Sr., 1B), Allie Crump (Sr., P/DP), Tazz Weatherly (Sr., CF), Aubray Zell (Sr., P).

New Mexico (19-26 overall, 5-10 MW) enters the 2012 season with head coach Erica Beach and 2011 all-Conference honorees Stefanie Carramusa (Jr., SS) and Danielle Castro (Sr., 1B) heading up a roster that includes 10 returning starters among 14 letterwinners. Colorado State (8-43 overall, 1-14 MW), under head coach Jen Fisher, returns eight letterwinners, including five starters, to a sophomore-laden squad.

The Mountain West will begin its 13th season of softball competition on Thursday, February 9, with San Diego State taking on Texas Tech in opening-round action at the Kajikawa Classic in Tempe, Ariz. Conference play commences on Friday, April 13, with UNLV at Boise State and Colorado State at San Diego State.

2012 Mountain West Softball Preseason Poll
Rk. Team (first-place votes) Points
1. San Diego State (4) 16
2. UNLV (1) 13
3. Boise State 9
4. New Mexico 8
5. Colorado State 3