Softball Picked to Win the MW Regular Season Title

Feb. 7, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The San Diego State softball team has been picked to win the 2012 Mountain West regular season title in a preseason poll released Tuesday. The preseason poll was voted on by the league's five head coaches.

The Aztecs, who went 34-21 last year and 8-5 in the MW en route to earning a trip to the NCAA tournament for the fourth consecutive season and fifth time in six years, had 16 points in the poll and four first-place votes. UNLV was picked to finish second with 13 points and the other first-place vote, while Boise State (9 points), New Mexico (8) and Colorado State (4) rounded out the preseason poll.

SDSU, which is receiving votes in both the USA Today/NFCA and Softball preseason national polls, returns five starters and three pitchers from last year's squad, including two-time all-MW pitcher Bailey Micetich (Woodland, Calif.), last year's MW Freshman of the Year Hayley Miles (Antelope, Calif.) and two-time Louisville Slugger/NFCA All-West Region pick Justeen Maeva (San Diego/Mira Mesa HS).

San Diego State begins its 2012 campaign on the road for the fifth straight year when it travels to Tempe, Ariz., to compete in Arizona State's Kajikawa Classic from Feb. 9-12. Five of the Aztecs' six games at the Classic will be against 2011 NCAA tournament teams, including (rv/rv) Texas Tech (Feb. 9), Portland State (Feb. 10), (14/9) Tennessee (Feb. 11), (rv/23) Georgia Tech (Feb. 11) and (16/11) Oregon (Feb. 12). Former MW opponent and new Pac-12 member Utah (Feb. 10) is the other game for SDSU in Tempe.

San Diego State begins its home portion of the schedule from Feb. 17-19 when it plays host to the 22nd annual Campbell/Cartier Classic. The Aztecs start on Feb. 17 with games against Notre Dame (2 p.m. PT) and Oregon State (7 p.m. PT), while their annual pink game will be on Feb. 19 vs. UCLA at 2 p.m. PT.

2012 MW Softball Preseason Poll
(First-place votes in parenthesis)
1. San Diego State (4) - 16
2. UNLV (1) - 13
3. Boise State - 9
4. New Mexico - 8
5. Colorado State - 4