San Diego State Earns Sixth Straight NCAA Tournament Bid

May 12, 2013

2013 NCAA Softball NCAA Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

SAN DIEGO - San Diego State earned a trip to the NCAA Division I Softball Championship for the sixth consecutive season and the ninth time in 13 years, the NCAA announced Sunday.

The Aztecs (35-18) will play No. 23 Georgia (38-19) at 12:30 p.m. PT Friday in Tempe, Ariz., on the campus of Arizona State (45-10), the tournament's No. 5 overall seed. San Jose State (42-15) is the other team in the double-elimination regional.

The entire NCAA Tempe Regional will be broadcast live on ESPNU.

SDSU, which also made the tournament in 2001, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012, is 12-16 all-time in the NCAA championship and 3-9 against teams that made this year's tournament. San Diego State is playing in Tempe for the third time in its last five NCAA appearances (also 2009 and 2011).

The Aztecs earned the automatic bid to the tournament after winning the Mountain West crown with a 13-5 record. It was their sixth MW conference title and second straight bid.

This year's national tournament features 64 teams, with four teams participating at 16 regional sites in a double-elimination tournament. The regional winners will advance to super regional competition for a best-of-three series from May 23-26 at eight campus sites. The remaining eight teams will advance to the Women's College World Series (WCWS), an eight-team, double-elimination tournament with the championship final being a best-of-three series. The WCWS will be conducted May 30-June 5 at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City.

2013 NCAA Division I Softball Championship
Regionals - Double-Elimination
Alberta B. Farrington Stadium - Tempe, Ariz.
All Games on ESPNU

Friday, May 17
Game 1: 12:30 p.m. PT - SAN DIEGO STATE (35-18) vs. Georgia (38-19)
Game 2: 3 p.m. PT - San Jose State (42-15) at No. 5 seed Arizona State (45-10)

Saturday, May 18
Game 3: 3 p.m. PT - Winners of Game 1 and Game 2
Game 4: 5:30 p.m. PT - Losers of Game 1 and Game 2
Game 5: 8 p.m. PT - Loser of Game 3 and Winner of Game 4

Sunday, May 19
Game 6: 3 p.m. PT - Winner of Game 3 and Game 5
*Game 7: 5:30 p.m. PT - *If necessary